You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One way trip to the Ganges

in #travel8 years ago

I had to particpate in this as well when my wife's grandmother passed away.

The tricky part is how two people have to pice up a bone fragment together and place it in the jar with long chipsticks. I've liver here long enough that they are no second nature on my own but I surely didn't want to be the one fumbling a piece of grandma when It came my turn. But it was fine, I teamed up with my middle son and it went smooth. The mother-in-law place grandmas glasses that she always wore on the top of the bones and then closed up the lid.

The family goes to the graveyard a couple times a year to wash the head stones with a scrub brush and I've gone a number of times to clean up the ancestors graves. And they alos have a little memorial shrine in the house that they will put out some food and right the bell to remember them as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60257.31
ETH 2427.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44