The Beauty Of The Greek Islands

in #travel7 years ago

I can't even remember the last time I had a proper beach holiday. All I know is that I was long overdue for some lazy afternoons digging my toes in the sand and worrying only about what to eat and when. And so it finally happened: my first beachy holiday in probably about a decade on one of the Ionian Islands: Kefalonia.

I made a whole bunch of photos that I'll probably desperately refer to for the next few months of English meteorological misery as I try to remember what the sun looks like. I shan't be selfish and will share them here, as you might need them to, depending on where in the world you are.


On the first day we had a lovely road trip on our way to a beautiful beach called Myrtos beach. On the way there we stopped at a viewing point to enjoy the scene from above before driving down to the white cobble beach for a refreshing plunge in the translucent water.


We spend the rest of the day in the beautiful village Assos, where we had a late lunch by the harbour.


I had trouble keeping my phone in my pocket with picturesque houses on every single corner.


I also spend a fair amount of time over several days on this quiet little beach with hardly any tourists and at most a few local families.


The sand was silky smooth, perfect for digging your toes around.


Of course I wouldn't be me if I wasn't also running around taking photo's of anything even slightly resembling a flower.


More great views...


... and a wedding.


One afternoon we made a lovely boat trip in a sunken lake called the Melissani Cave.


We walked an underground tunnel to reach the lake and were taken into little boats to explore its beauty.


However, the thing I miss the most is opening the French doors of my bedroom and walking out into the sunshine of my private outside terrace. I wish I could start my mornings again with sitting there whilst having breakfast from a hand delivered picnic basket followed by a pomegranate I picked from the tree myself the night before.





I post about my work and what inspires me! Follow my journey as a pattern designer and let me introduce you to art, people and places I find inspirational here.

Sort:  

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tishyaoedit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82