Discovering Seattle - Part Two

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


Seattle has a lot of fine things to offer. Some of these things I wrote about yesterday such the Pike Place Fish Market, views of the Space Needle and interesting lasertainment.

If you haven't read it, you can find it here. And just because I started that post with the very first scene out of Twin Peaks, I feel compelled to start this post with an equally enthralling piece of video. So here's the final scene of Sleepless in Seattle - what a classic - that also conveniently takes place on top of the Space Needle so we can all still have a glimpse of what it is like up there.

Anyway, today I will continue to recall the adventures I had whilst visiting. On the second day we started off with a hike to Kerry Park, a highpoint from where we enjoyed lovely views in every direction.

On this particular day it was unfortunately too cloudy to see Mount Rainier which pretty much looks like the mountain from the Paramount Pictures logo. I was lucky enough to spot it on the Light Rail whilst driving into town on the first day before it turned dark, but on the second day the clouds were very low and obstructing all of the snow covered mountain.

I was forced to pose in front of the Seattle skyline as surely I would want a "nice memory". I guess for those future days where I will need to see myself in a photo to believe I was actually there, it will come in handy.

After failing to identify who to marry in order to occupy one of the surrounding mansions, we walked back to the Seattle Center for some lunch. I had a very satisfying pizza from MOD, where pizza's are made from fresh dough in less than three minutes while you watch. And they are seriously good. After googling it just now, I found that there is one in London as well... I'm going - tomorrow!

After being satiated, we had another walk before I separated from the group to go and see a museum I had been super excited about since Googling "Things to do in Seattle".

We came across more sculptures and interesting structures. One of them being the red Olympic Iliad by Alexander Liberman also known as Pasta Tube. I can see why.

We also passed by The Museum of Pop Culture, or MoPOP. The building it is housed in was designed by architect Frank Gehry and the Monorail train actually runs through it. As with anything that doesn't look like what society has determined it should look like, in this case a building that was based on sliced pieces of electric guitar, opinions are heavily divided on the aesthetics. I liked the grandeur of the building, the movement, the material. Because there are enough boring buildings in the world.

Then I headed towards the Chihuly Garden and Glass Museum which I will have to dedicate its own separate post to because I think I have found myself another favourite artist in Dale Chihuly. I had seen his work both in the V&A museum in London and the Bellagio hotel in Las Vegas before, but I never knew the artist's name and it wasn't until I entered this exhibition that I truly fell in love with his work.

The opening artwork is a beautiful mixture of light, glass and colour.

And all the other installations are equally impressive, all set against black to make the glass, colour and reflections shine and delight visitors.

The Glass House and garden are equally mesmerizing.

This video does a decent job of giving an insight into the exhibit.

All in all, I must say this was probably the highlight of my visit to Seattle and I will be covering it more extensively in a separate post in the near future.

As always, all footage was taken by me with my delightful Android phone apart from the YouTube videos and the Paramount logo.




I post about my work and what inspires me! Follow my journey as a pattern designer and let me introduce you to art, people and places I find inspirational here.

Sort:  

But did you see the gum wall?
;-)

I did actually! Wrote about it in Part One :-)

Those are amazing arts and wonderful views. Great job on this post!

Thank you for your kind words, glad you think so!

Congratulations @tishyaoedit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49