Why do we love traveling?

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

 

It seems like the majority of the people love traveling! Even the ones that don’t do it often, usually, say that they would love to travel more if they could.The question thus becomes; what is the thing that makes traveling so desirable?Needless to say, that this question is subjective. One of the reasons that you love traveling may be something I hate passionately, vice versa.So, instead of looking for the “correct” answer, let’s have a discussion! I’ll tell you the reasons why I love traveling. Then, you can comment, why you’ve chosen to leave the comfort of your home and gone traveling the world!

This is why I love traveling!

Freedom

I’m starting off with a good one! If I had to answer the question, “Why do you travel?” in one word, I would say freedom!First of all, there’s freedom of movement. You are free to move (almost) wherever you want. One day you are in one city, the next you get bored and leave. The place you stay is dirty/noisy/creepy, you pack and leave. On the contrary, if you need more time to genuinely experience a country, you just extend your stay. Maybe, you meet an awesome person, and you want to spend more time together. You can continue the trip with them!It’s impossible to be 100% free, either you travel or not. But, while traveling the percentage is unquestionably higher, especially if your plans are flexible.

More Freedoms while traveling!

it’s all about being free!You also have freedom of actions. You wake up in the morning and decide how your day is going to be. Are you going to explore, visit a museum, go for a hike, join a tour, party hard, or even watch Netflix all day? It’s up to you!Off course there are some limits here as well. For example, if your Visa is expiring, you will HAVE to either leave or go to the embassy. Or if you are more of a digital nomad, work will have to be part of your schedule. But the majority of the time, you’ll be able to act the way you want!Last but not least, there is, let’s call it, social freedom. In our hometown, the place we live, people and the society give us some titles. Either we like it or not. Either it is true or not! You know, the cool or boring guy, the party dude, the crazy girl, the good student/coworker/friend, the caring or lazy person, etc.Most of the time we don’t care about those titles. But there are times that we are forced to act based on them. Consciously or unconsciously.When you travel, it is just YOU!That can vary a lot depending on the person and the situation, but I feel we can all relate to some degree.

Challenge ourselves

For me, there is nothing better than a good challenge. And traveling is all about challenging us. It constantly forces us to go through uncomfortable and unfamiliar situations, and we are called to react every day!From simple stuff such us, navigate through an unknown area, communicate with people that speak different languages, planning, and scheduling, etc. To more complex circumstances like dealing with relationships on the road, remaining calm even when things don’t work out for us, or dealing with personal issues while having to take care of everything mentioned before!As an aspiring digital nomad, the challenge is on a whole different level. Every day I improve and build new skills that will help me gain my location independence. Since I embarked on the digital nomad journey, I’ve learned more things than I’d ever learned in school. And this is just the beginning!The different challenges while traveling make your trip more impactful and meaningful.I have created some Travel Challenges, inviting you and me to do something unconventional that will make the trip a little hard, but at the same time a little more unique. You can check the first Travel Challenge Here!

Meet other people

There is nothing easier than starting a conversation with a traveler! At least that is my personal view.In my day to day life, I find it quite difficult to start talking to a stranger and making new friends. When I travel it is an entirely different story. I don’t know why, but it feels like I’m in my place!It’s not only that, but the fact that so many people with different backgrounds, ages, nationalities, and belief, can all get close to each other and have fun together is fascinating to me! You hang out with people so different, that it is crazy that you can even relate them. You get close and trust people you just met a few days ago. And again, there are not social titles blocking you from connecting to anyone!However, I have to mention that things are far from ideal. Usually, friendships last for a short period of time. Then, you both have to continue on your own path. Of course, you can always stay in contact with them via social media, but I think we can all agree that this is not nearly as exciting as the face-to-face interactions.Since we talk about the things we love about traveling, the takeaway here is that finding new friends is easy when you travel. I also think that the time we spend with them is more meaningful than the time spent in a boring classroom or office back home!

Stay Creative

Photography, cinematography, and blogging/writing are some of the things that I mainly started and keeping working on because of my love of traveling. The reasons why this blog post exists. The reasons why this entire website exists!Before I started traveling, I didn’t know that taking photos can be that fun and an incredible way to express different feelings that you have. Okay, that sounded more hipster than I wanted to, but the point still remains the same. I discovered my love of photography because of traveling. Even today, one of the reasons I keep working on it, practicing, and creating more, is traveling!There is a similar story with blogging. Five years ago, I couldn’t imagine myself writing and sharing tips and ideas, with other like-minded people on the internet. Still, here I am doing that exact same thing! All that because of traveling.In a few words, all these little things that you bump into while exploring new places have inspired me, and keep inspiring me, to create more, do more, be more!

Have Fun!

Sometimes I feel like I describe traveling as the solution to life. Do that cause it’s perfect and it will fix all your problems. That couldn’t be further away from the truth.Traveling sucks so many times! You feel lonely, and cold, and homesick. You get bored and tired, and you feel like you do nothing. There are times like those. But I still love traveling!And here is the point, with all its good and bads, ups and downs, traveling is what makes me happy! I have fun doing it, I spend my money on it, but it still feels good, it’s awesome!But this is my personal opinion. I’m sure that there are people who hate traveling, and it’s OK. In the end, it’s all about living a good life, and for me traveling is the solution!Now it’s your turn…

Why do you love traveling?

Sort:  

wow... that's a really cool photo... wish to see more about this... which Cam did you use? greetings from asia

Hello @tisfortraveler! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @tisfortraveler! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97