Trump's border wall already been here for decades at San Deigo/Tijuana Boarder

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I am a an American who's been living in Tijuana for almost 2 years now and I've learn a lot what it's like living on the other side of the border.  For those who don't know, the border wall (or fence) already exists between 60-70% of Mexico and United States Boarder, although this is not the 20ft high 10ft deep concrete wall that Trump wanted.  This dividing barrier not only exists but has been here for decades.  And as you can see this barriers goes all the way out into the ocean.

You can see in this photo there are people near the barrier almost as if they are looking into the American side. 

I have been to the beach here and drove by this place countless times and I've always noticed people there but didn't understand why until I actually walked pass there myself.  These people are actually talking to their family members or loves ones on the US side.  Some are deported and others just don't have access to get a Visa so other then video calls on the phone or computer, this is the only way they can actually see and talk to each other in the physical.  

But despite the situation, as you can see in my photos there are a lot of smiles.  People are happy just being able to see and talk to their loved ones in the flesh.  With all the technology with video chats, instant messengers, there is nothing that can replace the human interaction in person.  I am not sure how to go to the US side there because I believe it's all government property so I bet there is some sort of screening process for the US people to go there, but the fact that they can just proves not everyone or everything is as bad as the media says.

Sort:  

Hello amigo,
I have been living here since 2009. Welcome to Steemit. Sorry for this, but the word is Border. Following and a upvote. Adios

I guess spell check doesn't pick up correctly spelled words but not the right word LOL, thanks for the heads up!!

Hey there, I'm in TJ about four times a year and have plans to move there in the coming years. I would love to learn more about your decision to move there, what kind of work you do, and how living south of the border has changed your life (if at all). Thanks for the post. I've resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87