Hot Creek 700,000 year old Geothermal area Mammoth Lakes CasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Today I visited a very unique place just outside of Mammoth Lakes California. The Hot Creek Geothermal area and hot springs. This area was created in one big volcanic event over 700,000 years ago. 13 people have died here, mostly at night. This has caused the parks dept to stop people from going into the water and closing the area at night. Some areas are 200 degrees and others boiling. Some areas may be safe today and not tomorrow. The fact so many people died here made me think of that gruesome frog experiment where if you put a frog in lukewarm water where he can escape and slowly increase the temperature, the frog will never leave. He will remain till he boils to death. I have a feeling the same thing applies for inebriated human night visitors.

View entering canyon

hot creek view down.JPG
GOPR6695.JPG

Sadly I only had my gopro charged which does not do zoom. I used all the batteries at Mono Lake's basalt formations. You can see a tad of the super vivid blue waters in the hottest pools.

My intrepid travel partner and I
hot vreek tim coral.JPG

Member of Pal -MSP
#Whalepower
Ecotrain passenger

Sort:  

So much beautiful nature in the US.
And to know that you pay for this trip with crypto profits, makes me feel especially happy for you.

Thank you - this is the first time in so long I have been able to do something like this and not have it be a huge financial burden. I have not had a decent vacation in 15 years.... I sorta splurged on accommodations but the rest of the trip was fairly inexpensive and I did not spend nearly what I thought I would. I'll be bargain shopping crypto tomorrow. Having a full kitchen meant not needing to eat out etc. I am back and now i'm feeling more focused and inspired to continue my journey with crypto and life in general. Realizing more and more with my job in crypto seemingly stable for a year. I can now I can think about relocating and making somewhere my permanent home. Something I have needed and wanted, I can feel myself inching closer to making that happen.

Thank you! following
I really enjoy posts where i can find lists of quality posts that fit my interests. . It's a vital service in that respect.

great post!

wow these are lovely. you kind of kook cute together

Thanks for sharing @tim-rumford . Love it.

Thanks for checking it out!

Thanks we had a great time. She is a good friend and great travel partner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34