Exploring a 1964 Norwegian ghost ship lost in the Thai jungle. Drone + GoPro. (video)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

The city of Ranong lies 250km north of Phuket and looks out across the Kra Buri estuary towards Burma. At the widest point there is a mere 4km stretch of water that seperates the 2 countries. We were travelling back up to Bangkok and didn't really have any stops planned- that was until we crossed a small bridge and saw something completely out of place.

ko.jpg

Moored to the banks of overgrown countryside sat a huge cruise ship. Drive too fast and ignore the view down the river, and it is easily missed. Moss and mold had already begun to turn the paint green. Rust was eating into the metal and a low tide had begun to tip/beach the ship at that particular time.

Kong Olav.jpg

It was clear the ship had been sat there for many years and forgotten about. Maintenance had not been kept up and there were no guards or caretakers. A kilometer down the road was a single track- the only track. Probability was high that it would lead to the ship. I began to look around but stopped at an old metal gate- or what was left of it- barely standing and holes big enough to drive a motorbike through. To the side of the gate a footpath led off to a small hut and open clearing.

Kong Olav1-7.jpg

An elderly man approached me and asked what I was doing. I explained I was looking for the ship. He informed me that the ship was closed and inaccessible to visitors. He confused me by continuing to say that if I wanted to walk down, I could and if I was able to find my way on, I could!

I left with a smile and ducked through the broken gate. The challenge to navigate my way along the path to the ship was minimal and soon found the river bank.

Kong Olav-2.jpg

A rotten bridge half collapsed appeared to be the only way over to the entrance door- which inconveniently happened to be about 10ft above the waters surface and 15 meters from the bank. I tested the strength of the wooden bridge but my first footstep instantly broke through!

Not wanting to give up I tested the depth of the water thinking I could wade out- I couldn't! Swimming was considered next but I didn't like the idea of what might be lurking in that brown jungle water.

A big lump of polystyrene had been tied to a branch and was floating around. I had my plan. Untie the polystyrene and float over to the collapsed bridge and climb up the rope ladder that was still hanging from the door. Push open the door and I'd be in!

Kong Olav-4.jpg

Screenshot (491).png

Using the broken bridge to guide me over and ensuring I always kept one hand onto something solid I avoided being washed down the river. The polystyrene float was incredibly buoyant and offered great stability for this very job. the rope ladder hanging from the door seemed strong enough to hold my weight. I tied the boat off and climbed up pushing the heavy door open. The lean of the boat swung the door closed every time I let go- A rotten step from the bridge acted as the perfect door stop.

Kong Olav-21.jpg

Trying to explain the eerie ghost like feeling being on board could perhaps best be done through video.

Welcome on board MS Kong Olav.

Being honest, I was pretty frightened walking around. Mattresses laid out on the floor as if someone had been squatting there didn't help. Nor did pitch black corridors leading to the unknown or opening doors into more darkness. Knowing there was only one way on and off, I was aware that getting trapped or cornered could be a possibility. To make things worse the ships metal work clunked and clanged, and doors slammed shut behind me!

Kong Olav-24.jpg

Kong Olav-22.jpg

Stairs of mixed quality led up ad down to different floors. Many of these wooden steps couldn't hold my weight or had already fallen away. Metal railings became a preferred climb if present.

Kong Olav-13.jpg

I gave walking up to the top deck a miss after every step seemed too rotten and the hand rails didn't have a strong enough fixing.

Kong Olav-10.jpg

Kong Olav-7.jpg

The interior felt like stepping back in time. Leather sofas, fire safety equipment, kitchen appliances, and chairs and tables still all intact.

Random possessions were left lying around and numerous items from the ships inventory list.

Kong Olav-8.jpg

Kong Olav-9.jpg

Kong Olav-6.jpg

The kitchen and canteen area was interesting. It was also a part of the ship that many of the passengers would never have seen or been allowed to walk around.

As with any plane or ship, the most exciting part is the cockpit- I need to go up and forward. I came across the first class suites and lounge and another set of broken stairs. A strong rail helped me up and I found it. I didn't really know what to expect but it definitely wasn't what I found. Computers, digital navigation systems and loads of other computerised machines I have no idea what it was- it was amazing and just like a kid, I had to test the levers and buttons!

Kong Olav-17.jpg

Kong Olav-14.jpg

The equipment was in surprisingly good condition. I have no idea if these computers would still actually work if powered on but there was absolutely no damage.

Kong Olav-15.jpg

There were connection rooms just behind the cockpit. I assumed these rooms were perhaps dedicated to route planning or radio communications due to the equipment found in the rooms- headsets, radios and large drawers for paper maps.

Kong Olav-18.jpg

Kong Olav-19.jpg

Further inspection displayed the name of the ship- MS Kong Olav. Other than that I knew nothing about it. Paperwork and signage could be found in English and Thai, but there was a third language that kept appearing.

Kong Olav-16.jpg

Once I left the ship and had a moment to relax that evening, I began to search. It turns out that this forgotten cruise ship was build in 1964 in Norway. It was built to be one of the most luxurious cruise ships to sale around Scandinavia and was named after the King Olav- Kong Olav in Norwegian.

It changed hands a few times but spent most of its life in and around Norway. As the ship aged it was sold to a company that operated offshore dive trips in the Andaman sea, of the coast of Thailand and Burma.

Kong Olav1.jpg

In 1997 MS Kong Olav left Bergan, Norway for the last time and spent 4 weeks and 4 hours sailing to Ranong. In 1998 the ship was spotted in the dry dock in Bangkok, a voyage of about 1500 nautical miles that would take her through the ferocious Malacca Strait where pirates frequently operate. In preparation for the transit of Malacca, the crew took no chances and hired 15 heavily armed officers to guard the ship for the entire transit. Later that year, she sailed back down to the Andaman Sea to begin dive trips offshore, rather like a floating hotel.

The first season was a failure and bookings were low. All operations were finally halted in 2003 and to save further costs, MS Kong Olav dropped her anchor 2km offshore. During her many years at anchor, she once managed to drag her anchor and was almost blown up onto the rocks of Son Island in Burma. Quick action saved the day, just 50 meters from running up, possibly saving her being lost. At this point it was decided to move her to a safer place- up a quite tributary safe from strong tide and winds.

MS Kong Olav has been in its current position for at least 10 years. Internet forums that discuss her history have recently admitted that this will be her final resting place. An ageing hull and lots of rust will eventually see her sink into the river.

Kong Olav1-9.jpg

Kong Olav1-6.jpg

@steemitworldmap

If you liked my post, please don't forget to follow and upvote for more :)

Sort:  

it's really unfortunate fate of this ship, you really detail in displaying the picture and writing very informative, anyway, whether this ship still have

The ship became much more interesting once I researched it online. Such a long history.

Top exploration, I would be bricking it if I heard any sudden noise on there!

Another reason to mute the original sound recording, "@#$! what was that"

Quite a find!! A tantalising post! I keep wanting to know what happens next!!
You are crazy and stubborn to let go of your curiosity!
You did a good job!!

It was only once i left that i realised i never made it down to the engine room :(

Thanks for checking out my post

Going down there would be too dangerous and not advisable!
You live life too dangerously at times!

nice post dear, keep doing well

Thank you :)

i like your post.. of crs i vote and i'v follow you :)

Glad you liked it :) thanks

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thinkit
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-a-1964-norwegian-ghost-ship-lost-in-the-thai-jungle-drone-gopro-video


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, this is super interesting. And quite creepy.

Yeah i was pretty freaked out down in the dark lol

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Damn, I am a sucker for abandoned places for sure, but you seemed to have seriously stumbled upon a gem here, haha!

Thank you :) and yes it really was an amazing place.

Amasing place! Great pictures... And it is well descibed!

All the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64582.42
ETH 3502.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46