Training for the Appalachian Trail

in #travel7 years ago

Next week I'm going to be starting my training for walking the AT.

I live in Scotland so I am spoilt for choice when it comes to long walking trails, beautiful scenery and wild camping spots (maybe not so lucky in terms of the weather but I'll take what I've got!) This means that in starting my AT training I've got lots to choose from.

Last year, I walked the, very well known and well travelled, West Highland Way. This was a wonderful 6 days of walking and, because I went in March, there was not a single midge in sight! (For those of you not from Scotland, midges are like tiny and very evil mosquitos who's sole purpose is to bite you and make you miserable.) This year the west of Scotland is seeing the highest midge count it has had in decades, with reports of huge midge swarms appearing when the conditions are right. So, naturally I'd rather stay a little further east, where the midges are less bad, this year in order to save my sanity.

topmidges_0.jpg
A 'midge swarm' captured at Loch Leven - best avoided for anyone who values being able to breath without getting a face full of bugs!

After looking into a few different trails, I have decided on the Speyside Way which is 65 miles from the coast near Inverness down to Aviemore. There will still be midges where I am going but nowhere near as many as if I was going to walk further west!

speyside-way-omitting-tomintoul-spur-map.gif
The Speyside Way on paper - I will be starting at Buckie and heading south to Aviemore.

The walk should take me four days, three nights, and I will be wild camping and carrying all my food and equipment. This will be very similar to the amount of gear I will need to carry while on the AT.

Speyside-Way-Walking.jpg
A way marker on the Speyside Way - these guys are going to be my friends!

This will be the first time I have hiked and camped solo and so I'm interested to see how I do!

Thanks for reading, I'm going to photograph/video lots of the hike for you guys and let you know how I get on. If you have any questions/comments/tips for me then please leave a reply down below - I want to hear from you :)

Sort:  

Best of luck in your wonderful adventures! I will follow you on your travels :)

Thanks so much! Gonna need all the good luck I can get! :)

Buckie is my home town! i'm always glad to see that it is still on the map. :-) That's quite a midgie swarm you captured. LOL! Scotland is spoiled for its hiking trails! I try to walk some every time I am home. I have hiked small portions of the Appalachian Way too. Here you have to watch out for bears and mosquitoes. LOL! I am new here, so would appreciate a follow back. I will be blogging a lot about Scotland. (Will be in Buckie at the end of August!)

Best of luck, you'll have to let us know when you head out. I live in a town on the trail and am jealous of all of the hikers that get to through hike... someday I'll get to it.

I had wanted to hit the trail this coming year, but I'm in the running for a new job at work and I'm waiting to see if that pans out... Most likely wont happen this year.

Good luck on your hike, take the right gear and listen to your body. Looking forward to seeing your Katahdin pics!

Congratulations @thewanderer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52