Locals Only Surf Spot?

in #travel6 years ago

Every so often you hear these stories of surf spot and beach localism. Is it true? Kind of I guess. I’d say it depends. I’ve surfed in multiple places around the world and honestly have only seen some localism in my own backyard.

A few years back I was lucky enough to have surfed at a world renowned spot by the name of Snapper Rocks. Snapper Rocks is on the Gold Coast of Australia and is as epic as it sounds. Long barreling rights that seem to go on for miles wrapping around the coast.

I had absolutely zero issues with locals surfing at this spot for two weeks. Yet in my own back yard people who are less experienced surfers and just an agro way of life people seem to be so on edge. I honestly would relate it to Cultural influence and just the normal day to day life. Everyone was so laid back in Coolangatta, yet here in Florida people are all about “me” instead of “we”. They’re more likely to try to take your wave versus cheering you into a perfect take off.

While I am moving to California soon and have never surfed there, I can only hope that localism is as nice and inspiring as that which I have encountered in Australia.

Have you guys experienced any localism? Even outside of surfing, maybe in life?

Thank you everyone for reading and upvoting this! I will be here for many moons to come! Keep on keepin on steemians!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60289.82
ETH 3304.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42