You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ECUADOR SERIES: ADVENTURES IN VILCABAMBA 3

in #travel6 years ago

David Letterman several years back told of slipping and breaking his ankle -- or something like that -- while visiting Germany. He also wound up in the hospital (naturally). His total bill came to something just over $6.00. He couldn't believe it either.

This thing with your friend would have easily cost you $10,000 in the U.S. Possibly as much as double. Our health care system is a scandal. The last time I wound up in the hospital ... I was glow-in-the-dark yellow from liver failure ... which was the only reason I went in the first place. One doctor asked me, "Why did you wait so long?" Stupidest question I ever heard in my life. If I hadn't reached the point where I literally could not stand up by myself -- I wouldn't have agreed to go then.

Walter Cronkite was quoted as saying, "The health care system in the United States is neither healthy, caring, nor a system."

Believe it!!

Sort:  

In Canada I would have had to pay couple of good thousands as well; still much better then US. Though the ER in here is a pain in the ass as there is a waiting time of 8-12h until being seeing by a doctor. Why they insist of calling it ER I have no clue! Like you said, if you aren't dying, don't bother going there!
Years back I considered moving to the US but the so called medical system was what determined me to stay back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41