Snorkeling Into a Secret Cave in Raja Ampat, Indonesia

in #travel6 years ago


We all thought our tour guide Deni was a bit crazy when he told us to swim under this tiny crack in the side of a limestone wall!

It was a total trust dive. We played an underwater game of follow-the-leader into the darkness as we dived down. Beneath the surface, the crack expanded into a massive archway brilliantly backlit by the morning sun. Holding our breaths, we kicked under the arch and through a tunnel leading back into the cave.

The small tunnel opened up into a circular room surrounding by jungle vines and dense foliage. Tiny rays of sunlight flickered between the vegetation through a small skylight above. The surreal beauty of this secret cave almost had an Indiana Jones feel of adventure -- surely something must be laced with hidden booby traps around here!

(Alas, the only booby traps around here were my wife's 😉... what an epic honeymoon!)


More videos from my Epic Honeymoon

Raja Ampat, Indonesia

Annapurna Sanctuary, Nepal


If you enjoy living vicariously through my travel videos, please leave me an upvote and resteem with your friends! If you have any questions about traveling to Raja Ampat and/or Indonesia, please leave me a comment and I'll be happy to answer.

Keep on exploring, Steemians! ❤️@thescubageek


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

booby traps

Nice. Sounds like an amazing dive. I never mastered the snorkel dive. When I lived in Hawaii, it always amazed me how the locals could dive down for a while and come back up and clear their snorkels with almost no effort.

I used to be able to free dive super deep... 31m/104ft was my personal best. Nowadays I'm lucky to break 18m/60ft, and spend most of my time in 10m/30ft or shallower when playing around on the reef.

Impressive. That’s almost as deep as I’ve been in scuba. I think 30m is the furthest I have dived.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13