You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TRAVELMAN in CAMBODIA: A Bike Ride, Siam Reap at Night, and The Difference Between a Bull and an Ox.

in #travel7 years ago

Thanks for the lessons about cows! For some reason, I really like learning about livestock. Maybe I'm a farmer at heart (but I wouldn't want to be a poor farmer).

I feel very self-conscious as someone who's never known hunger. Poverty obviously sucks, but I think for people who are afraid of losing all their privilege it's almost a comfort to see how adaptable humans are, that even if almost everything is stripped away there's still a capacity for connection and joy.

It feels "wrong" that such extreme inequality even exists, at the same time that it feels "wrong" to assert that one way is better without being able to understand the other. All things I'm still trying to come to grips with.

Sort:  

Yeah, I was thinking, “What kind of articles are missing on Steem? What’s the undiscovered niche? What are people craving articles about?” And then it hit me, COWS, COWS, COWS! Maybe I’ll start a series

Also, I have a feeling I’m misunderstanding your point, but I do not think that Cambodians living in poverty are thinking “one way is better” and choosing abject poverty. That’s exactly my point in the post. It’’s not like sosmebody came by and offered them a million dollars and they said, “You know what, I’m going to stick with poverty. I think it’s the better way.” You can be connected to the human spirit and unafraid to lose your privilege, stay unbound to material possessions, and still want to have financial security, healthcare, dental care, and the freedom money provides you, the means it brings to manipulate and change your life situation when necessary.

Oops, I don't think I explained myself very well at all because I'm in agreement with you. I 100% think financial security is better, because it gives the freedom to choose how to live. I meant that it feels wrong for some people to think poverty is better because it "strengthens the human spirit" or something like that. I can't know whether that's true or not, but I'd take not feeling trapped any day. (Basically, I was trying to understand why some people glorify poverty then disagree.)

Yeah, that’s what I figured. My bad on not understanding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65970.26
ETH 2696.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88