THE ROYAL BRITISH COLUMBIA MUSEUM

in #travel7 years ago

THE ROYAL BRITISH COLUMBIA MUSEUM in VICTORIA
British Columbia, Canada


In June 2009 I visited Victoria, British Columbia, on Vancouver Island in Canada. My previous post was about Thunderbird Park, situated next to the Royal British Columbia Museum. I promised that we go into the Museum, so here are a few photos, as well as I am linking you to a album on Flickr: The Royal British Columbia Museum.

These photos are from the section about the Natives of the Pacific Northwest


SH106734web.jpg

3combined-2-WEB.jpg

SH106703web.jpg

3combined-3-WEB.jpg

SH106733web.jpg

5combined--WEB.jpg

See many more photos in my Flickr album
ROYAL BRITISH COLUMBIA MUSEUM

Some useful links about the cultures of the Pacific Northwest


(I posted these links also in my previous blog)
Kwakwaka'wakw mythology
Thunderbird mythology
The Thunderbird Symbol
Haida Indian Legends, Myths, and Stories
Indigenous peoples of the Pacific Northwest Coast

Stay tuned, I am not done - next few posts we explore more of the Museum (soon)
and also walk around Downtown Victoria


Art of the Mystic Otto Rapp
Attributions:
  • IMAGES provided by
    • Otto Rapp © Otto Rapp



    • Sort:  

      This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

      Amazing images. Can not believe I lived in Maine so long and so rarely went to Canada.

      Victoria is exceptional - and only a short ferry ride from Seattle. Mind you, you are on the other end of the country. Quebec would be your choice - check out Quebec city. I should post some pics from there also, as well as Montreal. Myself, I lived in Alberta, a short ride to the Rocky Mountains resorts, but a long 1200 km to Victoria.

      I live in LA now, so it is not quite that far:)

      it's a stretch, but at least you are on the west coast 😉 - if a 20 hr drive is "not quite that far" 😄

      Coin Marketplace

      STEEM 0.19
      TRX 0.12
      JST 0.027
      BTC 61265.20
      ETH 3320.34
      USDT 1.00
      SBD 2.48