Travel shots #3 Japan - Traveling the country on the high speed bullet trains (Shinkansen)

in #travel7 years ago

The Japanese bullet trains are without a doubt the easiest, fastest and safest option to travel the country. To me it represents the extremely well organized Japanese infrastructure and it's not without a reason the Shinkansen is so popular in Japan. 

Most stations have guard rails like these to prevent accidents

Before traveling to Japan march this year, I just happened to come across a documentary on the famous Japanese high speed trains. I was amazed by the trainlines operated by Japan Railways (JR), so clean, fast and most of all: reliable. A delayed train is something that so rarely occurs that it makes you wonder how it's even possible not every modern country in the world is capable of running a system like this. Also amazing, every platform on every station is marked exactly where a car number will stop and people will line up in a neat order to embark on the train. No pushing, no shoving, just patiently waiting...wow.

Can you imagine waiting for your train like this in your country? I can't...

Foreign travelers can buy a Japan Rail Pass in advance of their travel (only available for non-Japanese residents) which can be bought for 7, 14 or 21 consecutive days. This will roughly cost between $250 for 7 days and $500 for 21. Considering a one way ticket between Tokyo and Kyoto (a 135 minute trip) costs about $120, the Japan Rail Pass is very cheap. I definitely recommend anyone traveling inJapan to get this pass.

They don't just go fast...they look extremely fast

Back to the trains. There are several different types all with slightly different speeds (the fastest goes 200 mph - 320 km/h), interiors and exteriors.  Some are a bit more comfortable than others but I have taken 5 different tpyes and none have been any less than impressive. Some trains are divided between reserved and non-reserved cars, so always make sure to check beforehand if you should reserve a seat. I suggest reserving anyway, it's so easy and gives a certain place on the train. Every station these trains run through have an office where you can reserve a seat just by showing your pass and telling which train you would want. You will then get a ticket with your departure time, car and seat number. It's the most convenient way of traveling ever (unless you own a private helicopter of course).

The comfortable seating makes for a very pleasant journey

One detail I will never forget is the train staff. After entering and before leaving a car they will bow to all the travelers and show their respect. This doesn't happen just once, but every time they walk through which can be 10 times an hour. They do it every single time, amazing. This dedication to their job and respect for the customers is what I deeply admire of the Japanese.

Everything in the train including the announcements are in Japanese and in English so everything is as clear as can be. This also goes for the stations which are absolutely huge, but extremely easy to navigate. Something I didn't expect before traveling to an Asian country. Even though the stations are crowded like I have never seen anywhere else before, it's hard to bump into someone. Literally that is. Because no matter how many people there are, everyone gives each other space to move. 

If you want to know more about these amazing trains, check out a Discovery Channel documentary here.

Follow me for more and give me an upvote or resteem if you liked this post! :)

Sort:  

Japanese bullet trains are a dream ride.... saving some steem dollars to take this very trip.. Japanese are great people and very hardworking indeed.

Thank you for sharing

Good luck saving the Steem! Hopefully you will make it :)

yes ofcourse..will have to take my family along for the ride! as family matters... that reminds me...

Check out my blog post a week ago on family versus office (you will enjoy it if you really cherish family which i trust you do) and few others. Follow for more as i shall be updating my posts this week...took out time for work and also build contacts...

Those seem so terribly fast!

Trust me, they are ;)

I love the bullet train. I happened to be there during a fire hazard issue and lost my flight out to Korea.

wow, as much as that sucks...you were part of a historic incident :D

It was still good. Stressful but an experience nonetheless.

Congratulations @thephotoguide! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I will go to Japan next Spring and I am so excited to try one of these bullet train. :)

You should! I strongly suggest getting the rail pass if you plan on taking it at least a couple of times...depending on your itinerary of course. If you need any tips, let me know!

Yes I am planning to buy the rail pass because I want to go to Tokyo - Kyoto - Osaka but I have not decided yet how many days to stay for each city. How many days did you stay and what was your itinerary?

I stayed in Tokyo for 7 days, Kyoto for 3 and Osaka for 2. I have to say though, Osaka to me was the least exciting city to visit so I suggest you really do some research and decide for yourself if you really want to go there. Other cities I visited are Nara (recommended!), Kanazawa, Matsumoto, Fujikawaguchiko (to see Mt. Fuji). I also recommend visiting Mt. Takao, if a bit of hiking is your thing. In total I stayed 21 days.

Thank you for the suggestions. I will do some research based also on your suggestions. Do you think 7 days are enough for tokyo? I am planning to stay there 13 or 14 days because the Rail Pass is really expensive.

Yes 7 days is enough for Tokyo, there is plenty to see but if you plan ahead you'll not miss anything. Also, for your stay in Tokyo you dont need the rail pass as it is not valid in the subway and thats the most convenient way to travel inside of the city. Just buy a ticket whenever you need it, its super easy and cheap. I stayed for 21 days total but only had the rail pass for 14 days when i wasnt in Tokyo

Yes, in fact I will do the rail pass for 1 week and I will stay the first week in Tokyo. Do you remember how much did you spend for the week in Tokyo to move around?

Between €3 and €6 a day, depending on how many times I took a train/subway. You typically pay about €1.50 per ride

Really cool train :0) great pics and cool how u by ur ticket just telling what train I want and the seat....not bad. Cool to try one like this some day.
Thx for sharing

All it takes is to show your valid rail pass and thats it, you will get your seat reservation. Like I said, its for sure the best way to explore Japan

I belive u :0) really cool

Are those trains loud when passing by?

Actually, the sound is not so bad. Its more the movement of air you feel... I remember waiting at a smaller station where the faster trains wouldnt stop but just pass through. I wasnt expecting one so a passing train caught me by surprise with its pure speed...incredible to see.

Congratulations @thephotoguide! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stevcs from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Amazing shots! Keep it up!

Thank you! Will try :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86