Travelling around Austria with a Local - #012 Austrian food: Leberkäse = Liver + Cheese?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

meatloaf-1260712_1280.jpg
Picture by Congerdesign via Pixabay

Travelling around Austria with a Local #012 - Austrians: mad about something called liver-cheese

Hi and welcome to my blog Travelling Around Austria with a Local!

I'm Theodora from Austria. Together with friends from abroad, I'm exploring my home country - and I talk about its beauty and its curiosities. In the twelfth episode, I'll tell you more about Leberkäse, which literally translates as liver-cheese - hey, wait, don't be put off immediately: 1) it's probably the best fast food you can get and 2) we'll check if there's liver in liver-cheese.

Is Leberkas a mixture of liver and cheese?

Ok, so this is probably the question that got some Austrians and most foreigners worried right now. Now, while I love cooking, I have never made Leberkäse, or Leberkas. But according to the Austrian newspaper Der Standard, all it takes is some pork, spices, and ice cubes. No liver - and the cheese is optional! (In fact, there are lots and lots and lots of variants.)

Austrians are serious about their Leberkas

In fact, one Austrian was so serious about his Leberkas that when he didn't have enough money on him to buy a Leberkassemmel, he drove his car into a supermarket, as the the Oberösterreichische Nachrichten reported on 8 February 2018

Worshipping Leberkas in songs

This is just a small selection of songs about Leberkas - check back to YouTube for more if you don't believe me:
The Leberkas-Semmel-Blues


Vollegas Leberkas by Die Spritbuam ("die" is an article like "the" - nothing to do with dying!)

Dance music about Leberkas

An ode to Leberkas based on Let It Be by The Beatles

A song about Leberkas by Austrian comedian Mike Supancic

Another ode to Leberkas

Should you try Leberkas?

Absolutely yes. It's delicous. I love it. But then - I'm Austrian. An Englishman once told me it was the most disgusting food he's ever eaten. I suppose you'll have to try it yourself - and prepare to be amazed and go cold turkey when you go back to your home country, as Leberkas is, to my knowledge, only sold in Austria and Bavaria, where people call it Fleischkas (meat cheese).


Disclaimer: I do not own the content of the YouTube videos that I have posted in this article and I am not responsible for the content of the websites to which I posted links.

Sort:  

That was one of the first things i ate when i came in Vienna and since then i love it !

I bet you didn't know the songs yet, though! I didn't and found them quite amusing. Is there anything similar in Bulgaria?

By the way: if you want to get the really good stuff, you need to go to Leberkas-Pepi at Hauptbahnhof or Operngasse. (And no, unfortunately I don't get paid for that. Wish they'd send me a couple of Leberkässemmeln now :D)

haha, no we dont have something similar to this. I just like the taste of it. And thanks for the tip, i will check out that place :D

Hiya Theodora

Mmmm a spicy porky sausage-type thing with cheese! Sounds amazing. What's not to love :D

cheers
Anj x

If you ever come to Austria, make sure to try it. It's one of the best snacks you can find! x

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60231.53
ETH 2321.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51