11 reasons why I love spending time in Ukraine

in #travel7 years ago

11 reasons why Ukraine inspires me

I visit Ukraine as often as I can. The city of L'viv inspires me. My special bonds with Ukraine have changed my life forever. And I truly enjoy spending time walking through the streets of L'viv. Today I'm going to tell you why that is and why you should put a trip to Ukraine on your bucketlist.

11 years ago, I first embarked on a journey into the unknown: I was sat on a train to L'viv with a heavy backpack and an even heavier heart. I had gone through a terrible year when I decided that I was in desperate need of a break. While the train was passing through Austria, then Hungary, and eventually Ukraine, all I had was the telephone number of a girl I didn't know and whose family would offer me a free bed for a whole month in exchange for practising German with their daughter.

What happened during that month was completely unexpected and perhaps the best thing that has ever happened to me: I found a new family and fell in love with the city of L'viv. And the day I had to leave this wonderful city and my new family and friends behind to go back to Austria, I first experienced homesickness. Needless to say, I've been coming back a lot of times in the past eleven years.

So here are 11 reasons (I could probably name a few more but for now I'll only bore you with those 11) why I love spending time in Ukraine, particularly in L'viv, and why a trip to Ukraine should definitely be on your bucketlist.

1: Joie de vivre or: people know how to have fun

Ok, well, joie de vivre is not a Ukrainian expression. But життєрадісність is - and it means exactly the same. To me, this couple is the perfect personification of joie de vivre - the love for life. I took their picture in July 2017 in the centre of L'viv, where there whole main square turns into one place to sing, dance, talk, drink cocktails and enjoy life every summer - this was a stage where couples were invited to dance to salsa music. And I love this man's style and the way they danced.
20157873_10154953800491656_3921725573342902976_o.jpg
Visiting L'viv in summer is wonderful for music lovers: there is live music everywhere in the city centre.

2: Details! Details everywhere.

Going through L'viv is like living in a hidden object game. There are details everywhere and I love it. L'viv has taught me to look at details like no other place in the world. I've been a regular visitor for eleven years now and I still find details and places I hadn't noticed before. Check out these window grilles that I photographed during a nightly walk through L'viv in July 2017:
20369594_10154965291701656_4700799114219918556_o.jpg
The lion is not only in L'viv's coat of arms, but can be found everywhere in the city.

3: Cows

I took this picture while I was sitting in my car. Yes, really. On my way from Ukraine to Austria (I usually go there by car), I had to stop to let the cows pass. A farmer was walking them from the pasture to the stable. One of my favourite memories, as I love cows!
10321021_10152205793776656_422053014943263282_o.jpg
Cows everywhere!

4: Cats

Just because I love cats. I found this beauty in the centre of L'viv.
20248160_10154965289731656_4948056108144973168_o.jpg
My little friend here reminded me a lot of Garfield.

5: Crazy and fun people

...or as I call them: my friends. Here's Vasyl (Basil), one of them, at a Venetian ball we attended in L'viv.
302284_10150322432806656_735056801_n.jpg
If you go to Ukraine, get to know the locals. Many of them are more than happy to show you around, practise their English, grab a beer with you, have wonderful conversations, and a great laugh.

6: Love is in the air

Not only do you see brides and grooms everywhere in the city, they even have their own kiss place. Actually, this is a PR stunt of one of the many fantastic cafés in the city - but I still think it's a nice idea!
10409342_10152196741886656_8344954345836141785_n.jpg
Looking for a place to kiss?

7: Cool place names

Okay, so this is probably only funny for German-speakers. Hirne is the name of a village in Ukraine but it's also the German word for brains.
10273156_10152197248331656_6090680387368977847_o.jpg
Braaaaaaaaaaaaaaiiiiins...

Here's a funny pic for my English-speaking readers:
ukraine lviv restaurant funny sign.jpg
I'm not sure if I want a wild boar and a pen...

8: Breath-taking views

This is Ternopil lake with the city of Ternopil in the background. If you want more amazing views, try L'viv's Kaiserwald or High Castle - or go hiking or skiing in the Carpathians. You will be truly amazed by the beauty around you!
20280338_10154969870431656_4438709359940987806_o.jpg
If you come in winter, you can go ice-fishing on the lake.

9: Architecture

Here, I'd just like to let the pictures speak for themselves:
20247928_10154965288881656_5827126768653077274_o.jpg
I love those old buildings.

20233112_10154961212306656_272055083117964187_o.jpg
L'viv's opera house

20507574_10154993712136656_9192831236003191297_o.jpg
a typical church in a village

10: Music

Even if you don't understand the brilliantly written, sometimes even poetic lyrics, you will be mesmerised by frontman Svyatoslav Vakarchuk's unique smoky voice. There are some more fantastic Ukrainian artists, but Okean Elzy (English: Elsa's Ocean) are by far my favourites.


If you want to find more songs by Okean Elzy, copy and paste this into your preferred search engine - it's the band's name in Ukrainian: Океан Ельзи. Prepare to be amazed!

11: Life-changing encounters

In 2007, I first got in touch with a woman's refuge in Ukraine. They are helping young women and children who are in serious trouble - usually they are victims of domestic violence. This boy here had to flee from his home together with his mum and his elder brother - they literally had nothing. When I came into the women's refuge, I instantly gained a new fan. The little boy, when I carried him, broke one of his biscuits into two halves and stuffed one into my mouth. This was the most memorable experience in my life. Since 2007, I've been supporting the women's refuge as much as I can. I organise annual charity events and I visit them whenever I'm in Ukraine.
1530_41324856655_6620_n.jpg
This child changed my life forever.

Meeting this little boy humbled me. I grew up in one of the richest countries in the world. Sure, I didn't grow up in a mansion and my father doesn't have his own helicopter but seriously - we've got everything we need and still we don't want to share. And then there was this boy who shares his biscuit with me although he had nothing at all.

In July 2017, another trip to Ukraine changed my life: I had been sick and tired of my job. No payrise in seven years, no chance of being promoted, I was 29 years old, well-educated - and stuck on the career ladder. The 10 days in Ukraine were my first holidays in about two years.
I managed to get a lot of sleep - and I got used to doing nothing for a change. Something I wasn't used to anymore. I blogged. I wrote an article for an Austrian newspaper. I spent hours just taking photographs of this beautiful city that had changed so much over those ten years. I started feeling alive again. I knew what I had to do: on my way home (I had to wait for hours at the border anyway), I sent an e-mail to my boss telling her I was quitting my job.

It wasn't easy to leave my wonderful colleagues behind. But I had to do it. And it was worth it: I was happy, I slept better, I was more creative again, I started my own business - and I'm still feeling fantastic.

Thank you very much, Ukraine! Here's to another 11 years of wonderful moments!


P.S.: There's one honourable mention: Ukrainian food

Hot dumplings filled with savoury meat or mushrooms, red beet soup with beef, a combination of crisp meringue and buttercream wrapped up in a cake, breaded and deep-fried chicken cutlet filled with herb butter, hot dumplings filled with cherries - is your mouth already watering? Time to go to Ukraine!

Just one warning:
While vegetarians will find food they will love, vegans may be a bit disappointed: Nearly every Ukrainian dish I know is served with a cream-like dairy product called smetana (and usually contains either meat or / and butter).


All content and images in this post are my own, except for the YouTube video. Unauthorised use is prohibited. I am not responsible for the content of the links, DTube, and YouTube videos I post.

Sort:  

Great article!) and as you mentioned vegans there is actually place in Lviv I can recomend called "Green" on Brativ Rohatinciv street. Vegans, raw eaters, of course vegetarians will be pleased. I remember one Scandinavian told with excitement it's the best vegeterian place in the world ;)

I found there are also some (well, a few) vegetarian / vegan shops. But I'm sure that there will be more in the future. Personally, I still prefer вареники з сметаною...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @theodora.austria to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

All of it interesting and impressing at the same time. Resteemed.

There's nothing like Lviv in summer. Definitely worth a visit. But be careful: you might keep coming back ;-)

Perhaps my son @yourmate will travel to Ukraine sooner than I do. He told me about his plan to travel with some friends. But now he will leave for Thailand soon. He is a digital nomad.

Well, I'll be more than happy to help with tips and/or meet up for a coffee somehwere in L'viv in case I'm there at the time. Steemians are lovely people - or at least those I've been in touch with so far!

The art of photography is all about directing the attention of the viewer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55