Of Warthogs and Giraffes .....steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

A little bit of history and a little bit of wildlife as my gal and I go up the east coast for a weekend.

My partner is a serious athlete and recently we went up to Mossel Bay on the east coast of the province for her to participate in the National Marathon Champs. We stayed on a small game lodge just outside Mossel Bay, around 15 km’s out


Far end of the bay… Mossel Bay town across the bay.

Mossel Bay is the location where the first European’s landed on South African soil back in 1488. Portuguese explorer Bartholomeu Dias and his crew were exploring a sea route to the Far East when they landed to look for fresh water

Today the primary industry is gas-to-oil refinery after a natural gas source was found off the coast

source

A night time photo of the Mossel Bay lighthouse

Some rescued animals at the game lodge….. a baby giraffe..


See the size of this ‘baby’ ….

Some warthogs which were taken in when their mother died

Bedtime for the babies ….

(friendly wave to Cheetah…. I have used this one before out of context)

On the lodge there are elephants, zebra, leopards and various wild cats

Thanks for reading this light blog. I am trying to drum up enthusiasm for my next Music Legend. My most recent featured artist dented my drive a bit 

Sort:  

Little warthogs are so cute!

But like petting a wire brush ...LOL.... but yes I agree. I had photo's of a tame possum (meerkat in SA) which continuously raided our room and hid under the fridge... damn, he was cute .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70