You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Escaped Human Traffickers at The Cambodian / Thai Border - Part 1

in #travel6 years ago

Wow, I've been a solo traveler (I think we're same age) many times and never been closed to this kind of danger. Do you still travel solo? How do you prevent this?

Sort:  

@theinspiredlife Yes I still travel solo.... I was very lucky this time... but many other things happened to me on the road while my 8 years of travelling... After I moved out of Istanbul, I took a self-defense class in Perth.

I have dedicated some of my time now to build a brand (Girls Kick Ass) which is for solo female travellers. We teach them self-defense, awareness, setting boundaries, how to get out of situations etc.

It's crucial for women to know a few self-defense moves. It changes everything. It changes the way you walk, the way you talk, the way you interact with people and the way you come across. It will prevent you from becoming a victim, which is our ultimate goal.

Where have you travelled so far?

I like and admire that you have created that company based in a traumatic experience and that you managed to make it your job, awesome.

I don't know self-defense itself but I'm pretty much in tune with my gut feeling and have avoided people that ended up being not much of a good company.

I'm from Ecuador and when I was living there I traveled through South America, several times I packed my backpack and when on a month or two-month journeys. So I have been to almost every country there except Venezuela and it's tiny neighbors to the east. Since moved to Europe four years ago, I have traveled quite a bit this continent. I've been to South Africa and to Asia for the first time on December when I explored Thailand, Singapore and Indonesia, three months as well...

Still thinking that in the not-so-far-future I would like to move for a while somewhere in Indonesia, you might understand why :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41