The Crocodile Men

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

cover shot.jpg

The photo below is the arena these brave or mad men enter on a daily basis trying to earn a living. They perform a number of risky tasks, which could give the cool crocs an opportunity to snap at any given moment. I can think of easier ways to earn a living, I thought I was hard done by when I worked lifting stone pots all day, unloading containers when I was between jobs years ago. I know which job I'd prefer, how about you Steemians?

Enter at Your Peril.jpg

This large crocodile was the biggest crocodile in the arena and at this moment it was enjoying some peace before the crazy crocodile men arrived to meddle with the chilling crocs. It wasn't long before the stadium started to fill and the crazy crocodile men arrived to earn themselves some currency for risking their lives and winding up the big snappers!

croccy balboa.jpg

The men arrived and the crowd gave them a cheer and they made their arrival known shouting each other and preparing themselves for their showcase. But after this entrance they put their hands together to wai (pray and say thank you) all of the audience. During their performance many spectators threw money down to the men as gifts, this could be the only payment they make. A lot of lower paid jobs in Thailand involve only gaining money through tips.

croc men enter.jpg

Before they started their life defying acts with the crocodiles, they soaked the area making it wet and making the crocodiles that were in the middle wet as well. I'm not sure how this helped, but they made quite an ordeal out of it. Once they had finished this process they took it in turns to stick their heads inside the crocodiles mouths.

head 1.jpg

head 2.jpg

head 3.jpg

After each life threatening act they would pay respect to the crocodiles for not eating them, I wonder what the trick is to stop the snap? On every occasion they rubbed their wooden sticks along the side of the corcodile's jaws all the way up to tehir heads, was this some sort of freezing trick? Who knows but I wouldn't fancy even getting in the arena with the giant snappers.

head 4 respect.jpg

At the end of their show the crazy crocodile men picked up a crocodile each and walked around the arena with them. this seemed like the perfect opportunity for the animals to get themselves an easy spot of lunch! But I am guessing they were probably heavily fed before the performance, causing a food coma like on Christmas day when you eat about 5000 calories and can't move off the sofa!

hold 1.jpg

hold 2.jpg

They invited people to go and take pictures with the crocodiles at the end, this was the point when our family decided to get out of there! We didn't fancy going in the crocodile arena!

Thank you so much for checking out my post, if you enjoyed this and would like to see more photos and travels in Thailand feel free to swing by my page when you have a moment free.

Peace Out Steemians

Never stop exploring!

Sort:  

Hey is this at Sam Pran, Nakhon Pathom, Thailand? I've just been the place today but not yet uploaded the photos.

I like your style telling the story. not just explaining what is it in the photos but the fact deep down like Thai people jobs.

I'm Thai too and I'm impressed how you present. Very nice with taking time writing the real blog not just doing it roughly just to make a quick post. Big Salut to you!

I'm focusing on Thai food, feel free to check it out if you'd like.
STEEMIT B.png

I will check out your food articles, I am from England, but have been living in Thailand for about 9 years. My wife is Thai and my son is the best of both! Good luck with your food articles, there are so many good Thai dishes to write about!

Thank you so much ! I do my best (:

what are they doing with these dinosaurs!!!....they are crazy people not brave!! :))

Yeah, they are pretty mad!

Crazy people LOL

What an encouragement. Congratulations to all. It is not for me :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=theexplorer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-crocodile-men


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

A textbook case of insanity if I ever saw one.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's #TravelDigest!

I went to a similar one in Nakhon Pathom the other day. It was quite interesting as a American

I usually go these places for my son, they're interesting to take photos, but pretty cruel. Although there are people taking care of animals that injured and can't survive in the wild!

did you see I was up there a bit before you bosssss :D funny that we commented on the same article. Or you're sneaky?

This is amazing. I never knew that there were men insane enough to wrestle crocs.

As for me, I keep my distance from the little geckos that occasionally scurry along my walls, so I will definitely not be picking up this hobby any time soon.

They were fearless/nuts! While one put his head in the jaws of the biggest croc, the other guy purposely banged a piece of metal really hard to make a massive noise! They added slapstick comedy to the performance, which in my eyes was insane, but they were pretty confident in what they they were doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91