Sri Dit Waterfall, Guided by a 6 Year Old! - Petchabun, Thailand

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

above shot.jpg

My son had decided to be our guide for the day leading us to the waterfall, which wasn't far for an adult, but probably felt a lot further to him. I'm not sure what had influenced him, but he had put on a fake accent, giving us a running commentary of fictional events and scenarios as we made our way to the falls. He had a scour of the map ahead of us and then insisted that he would take his 'customers' to their destination. I was already finding it difficult to keep a straight face and I don't think he realised how amusing his impromptu character really was, I really should've taken a video, but I was too busy containing my laughter from my son's entertaining show!

map scour.jpg

The Mission Begins!

first sign.jpg

Mrs Explorer, Grandma Explorer and Auntie Explorer became fixated on the view of the waterfall above, but my guide Junior Explorer was keen to get a better view from below, so we went ahead and our journey commenced. He told me that I would need to watch out for snakes at this time of year, as it was cold and they would heat themselves up in the warmer areas of the paths. He pretended that he could see one and raced off down the slope, intending on catching it so he could show me. He told me that it got away, but it was probably for the best as the snake was the 'Deadly Brown Spitter' that would spit venom into their attackers eyes causing blindness!

After that we proceeded upon our journey, my fearless guide advised me to be careful and to keep away from 'Crocodile Creek' on my left. In an Australian accent he told me that a whole family were eaten just last week, as they got too close to the edge and the crafty crocs jumped at the opportunity snapping the clueless tourists off their feet, directly into the bellies of the creek dwellers!

croc creek.jpg

Anyhow we continued upon our quest to reach the falls, carefully stepping over various rocks upon the instructions from my expert guide. It wasn't long before he had fabricated a new scenario to our journey. He suddenly whispered, "Quiet, get down low and don't make a sound I can hear poachers they're coming our way, lets hide behind these rocks!" We stayed behind the rocks for a minute and he told me that they hadn't noticed us which was lucky. He said that they were hunting for tigers and didn't like other people on their turf! By this point my eyes were watering with laughter and I was wondering if I should limit my son's TV usage, or let him watch more! One thing I was glad of was that nobody else was around as I followed my guide.

After escaping the clutches of the dangerous poachers my guide presented me with one final challenge. My fearless guide said"Stop!", still in character he warned me that we were about to cross the "Falling Bridge of Death". I was instructed to follow once my guide was about 5 seconds ahead and if I went to slow the bridge would fall. I would drop into the'Endless Pit of Eternity'. Apparently if I fell into the pit I would be falling for the rest of my life! My guide ran ahead and I continued to play his game, following after five seconds.

bridge 1.jpg

away.jpg
My guide zoomed off into the distance

Mission Accomplished

Here are some pictures of the waterfall, as I mentioned we had the entire place to ourselves, my son had finished his job and came out of role. We sat down, enjoyed the waterfall, waited for the other members of our family and wondered if the waterfall was man-made or not? The rock behind the small waterfall looked too flat to be natural, what do you think?

fall 1.jpg

fall 2.jpg

Thank you for reading and checking out my blog, it really is appreciated. If you enjoyed this and would like to see more over here in 'The land of Smiles'-Thailand, swing on by when you have the time. Feedback would be fantastic, I am learning so much from Steemit everyday and am excited to see what 2018 brings! The story is true, I wish I had filmed it!

Peace Out from Thailand and never stop exploring!

Sort:  

That's a wonderful waterfall you got there. I'm a mountain biker and I usually bike to waterfalls.

I am a mountain biker too!

Nice to meet you! bikers' wave/nod/whatever

Maybe a skid or a roost!

Your son did a great job :))

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=theexplorer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sri-dit-waterfall-guided-by-a-6-year-old-petchabun-thailand


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86