Friendly Monsters, Sunsets and Architecture - The Explorer's Last Trip of 2017 (Part 1)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Cover shot.jpg

Escaping the city for greener pastures is always music to my ears and it would be our last trip of the year, what would this trip entail of and would we discover any new treats? When we go down to Jomtiem, Pattaya we are lucky enough to have a place to rest our heads at my uncle-in-laws apartment, so there isn't a rush to set off super early as we can arrive and leave whenever we please.

Where Junior Explorer's Lunch Went!

20171229_143001.jpg

So are first stop off was at a restaurant to have our lunch, we were all really hungry as time was getting on and we were in to mid-afternoon. As usual my hunger got the better of me and I inhaled my food at light-speed like a vacuum cleaner, I promise that I didn't make the sound though! My son had other plans, while we were busy eating he had picked out all the shrimp from his omelette and proceeded to feed his new buddy, who you can see in the photo above. He or she (No I didn't look to find out!) was a beautiful cat and my son really loves animals and assured me he was full, so I let him continue. (Although Junior Explorer will always have room for ice-cream at any given moment) I managed to get one good photo of the friendly feline, as it didn't stop moving wanted to be stroked and fussed over!

The Monster Aquarium

As I mentioned my son loves animals, so we thought we would take him to the 'Monster Aquarium' which name fits in nicely to the staff working there. Prior to presenting our tickets the staff told my wife that the pricing scheme which had a Thai price and a foreigner price. The foreigner price was almost 10 times the Thai price!!! The true monsters at this private animal sanctuary were the owners!!! Anyhow my wife had bought the tickets online already, so this wasn't an issue for us, but possibly for others. Aside form the aquatic life the 'Monster Aquarium' had quite a few birds and land dwelling creatures. The aquatic creatures were hard to take photos of due to the murky water and the reflection off the glass, but here are a few shots of the animals that we could see clearly!

Eagle 2 .jpg

parrot edit.jpg

Iguana Edited.jpg

orange iguana edit.jpg

crab.jpg

A Solo Sunset

Junior Explorer was so excited at the not so 'Monster Aquarium' that he utilised every last bit of his energy, which meant his lights went out as soon as his head touched the seat in the car. We arrived at Jomtiem Beach just as 'Golden Hour' was kicking in and Junior Explorer was still out cold, so Mrs Explorer was on snoring duty and I had to wonder a huge 15 metres across the road on my own, luckily I made it to the beach unscathed and ready to attempt some 'Golden Snaps'.
It's an interesting time at the beach, as most are packing up ready to go home. On this occasion the Sun gave the water a golden glisten to it and below are a few snaps I captured.

jom1.jpg

jom2 edit.jpg

jom 3.jpg

Another Taste of European Architecture

European styled architecture is becoming very popular in Thailand and more and more places seem to be adopting this theme. On this occasion we went back to Silverlake on the outskirts of Pattaya, which is surrounded by green mountains, or hills depending on how you look at it! Most tourists aren;t so bothered to see such architecture, so the main customers are Thais or expats like me, it was quite nice to see some 'Mock' European architecture and they had a big wide area for the Junior explorer and I run around, which is always welcome in my books. This site also provided some excellent time to take some photos, which you can probably guess by now that I enjoy taking a snap or two hundred! It was a great place to have a bite to eat and the restaurant we ate at translated to 'Delicious Corner'. I was in a ravenous state yet again and ate everything on the table at warp factor 9, I got half way through eating a plate when I noticed my animal like behaviour and was expecting a tough exit later on! On a serious note we did have another important matter and that was the birthday of my late father in law, it would've have been his birthday, so our lunch was in his memory - Rest in Peace Samer, you were a truly wonderful man!

muum1.jpg
My bouncer on the left and yes that's me with the chopstick legs!

mum2.jpg

muuum 3.jpg

Muum4.jpg

junior eating.jpg
Junior Explorer eating in memory of his grandfather and what a great job he did!

Thank you for reading and checking out my blog, it really is appreciated. If you enjoyed this and would like to see more over here in 'The land of Smiles'-Thailand, swing on by when you have the time. Feedback would be fantastic, I am learning so much from Steemit everyday! Keep your eyes peeled for Part 2!

Peace Out from Thailand and never stop exploring!

Sort:  

nice pictures! I get to know Thailand from your blog.

Thank you, I live in Thailand so most of my travel takes place here!

Great photos! Your bouncer looks pretty tough 🙂

He is, but can easily be bribed by sugary goods!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=theexplorer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=friendly-monsters-sunsets-and-architecture-the-explorer-s-last-trip-of-2017-part-1


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @theexplorer to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33