Tangub City: Christmas Symbols Capital of the Philippines

in #travel6 years ago

I know it's way too late for a Christmas-y like post but we visited this place on the 9th day of January last year and I think it's only fair *cue the nervous laugh.

Tangub came from the word “tangkub”, a Subanen word for rice container made of tree bark woven together by rattan strips. A Spanish soldier on patrol in the area found a dead man whom the Subanens described as bitten by a snake inside the “tangkub” when he checked if there was still rice in the container. Not understanding the dialect, the soldiers reported that there was a dead man from “tangkub” and the name stuck, which later on was changed to Tangub.

FB_IMG_1484222047227.jpg

I have never heard about this place it's very new and unknown to me. I was actually expecting to see a park covered with greens and just nature. When we were on our way to Tangub I became very worried because it's getting dark and it was raining, the streets are completely empty some cars may pass by from time to time but that's it.

So I thought 'How can we enjoy the view if it's already dark?' but I spoke way too soon.

When we arrived there it was so beautiful, lights are totally brighter than my own future, it's like Disneyland with a twist, the entrance fee is very cheap (that can make your thrifty side jump with joy) I mean for a view like this who would complain?

IMG_0971.JPG

Inspired by: Bahai Temple in India

After our visit, I searched Tangub City over the internet and surprisingly it is already featured on some TV shows here in the Philippines.

IMG_0967.JPG

Foreign and local tourists keeps coming every night in order to experience and witness these yearly festivities they have.

IMG_0980.JPG

That is there version of Blackrock Castle in Ireland, they decorated like 14 international establishments and it's very entertaining to roam around, it feels like you visited different countries in one go.

IMG_0963.JPG

All images owned by me

I would love to visit this breathtaking site again if given the chance and if ever you are planning for a Christmas vacation (not too late ;) ) I highly recommend this place.

Tangub City is located at the Southern curve of D-shape Misamis Occidental Province, part of Mindanao. It is bounded by Mt. Malindang on the north, Ozamiz City on the east, Paguil Bay on the south and Municipality of Bonifacio on the west. It can be reached by plane in 1hour and 20 minutes from Manila, one-night travel by boat from Cebu City and 3 hours and 30 minutes ride by bus from Cagayan de Oro City.

Click this for more information about Tangub

Thank you.

Sort:  

Wow! never heard that name before.
Steem ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51