Backpackers Journal Part 5

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

It was a very long day. First I flew from Toronto to El Slavador. The flight took us around 5 hours. Then i changed to board a plane to take me to San Jose, Costa Rica where I would begin my backpacking adventure. As I was flying a lot for the past few days I was very happy to find out that the flight from El Salvador to San Jose would take around one hour. I boarded the plane, found my seat and fell asleep immediately as I had no energy left at all.

When i landed I couldn't believe where I was. I planned this journey, I tried to imagine it with no success of course. But now i was standing there, breathing the air of the place I once only dreamt about. That was the moment when I realised that there aren't dreams which cannot come true. It only takes a decision; one moment in which you decide to step out of your comfort zone to get yourself exposed and attract opportunities. They do not come if you stay in the same environment, surrounded by the same people, experiencing the same situations. You fall into a life which brings nothing new, brings no experience, brings no self-improvement. Get out of it. For your own sake.

I could imagine how many lessons travelling would bring to me, how many new skills I'd gain, how many things I'd experience but I never imagined that on my very first day I'd realise one thing that always held me back, one thing that constantly reminded me of my weakness. It was me all along. Not my friends, my family, my work, my dog.
No. Just me.

I smiled to myself, took a deep breath and slowly step by step walked down the stairs from the plane. When I reached the ground I stopped for a moment and looked into the falling sun smiling because in that moment I knew that I was in the right place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29