BACKPACKER's Journal Part 6

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

COSTA RICA

I woke up in the middle of the night completely rested and ready to start the day. I haven't yet adjusted to the time change. I looked around my dormitory and noticed that everybody else was still sleeping. I walked out of the room as quietly as possible so that i don't wake up anyone. Only later during my travels i learned that I was the only person who really paid attention to this. I cannot count the number of nights when I had been abruptly brought to reality after someone entered a room, talked on the phone or started singing songs in the shower after coming back from a party. After all, alcohol makes us all to be superstars.

Although being in Costa Rica during the rainy season and having low temperatures comparing to other months of the year, I still struggled with the heat. I jumped into the pool to cool myself down. I always preferred to swim at night. I was quite surprised because swimming in this pool could easily be compared to taking a bath. The water was incredibly warm. I got out of it as quickly as I got in it.

I walked toward the kitchen to prepare some breakfast only to realise that my eggs, milk and bread have gone missing. I was so glad to find my onion and garlic still in the fridge. Completely full and satisfied with my breakfast I lay in the hammock and fell asleep.

When i woke up it was already early morning. I marched out of the hostel to explore San Jose. Just after i have gotten out i have spotted an old man selling some fruits and cocos ! I run as fast as i could to try my first coco water straight from the coco nut. I payed 300 colones ( 50 cents ) and walked further down into the unknown.

San Jose apart from its architecture wasn't falling much behind some european cities. Plenty of foreign shops, businesses made the entire city landscape to look very familiar.
The prices although high when compared to some other countries in Central America weren't as high as i expected.
I can honestly say that water was the biggest expense I had in Costa Rica. For a big bottle of mineral still water I payed on average 2-3 dollars where a basic soda flavoured drink like coke would cost around a dollar. I walked around San Jose for few hours, exploring new places and observing people as blatantly as they watched me.

Tired of the strong sun I decided to return to my hostel and meet some other solo travellers. I liked San Jose and so I wondered what this city will tell later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70