Backpacker's Journal 10

in #travel8 years ago

COSTA RICA PART 5

I stayed in La Fortuna for a couple of days. Haven't done anything exciting apart from my volcano hike i wrote about in the previous post. I took the bus back to San Jose where I would change to the bus which would take me to the caribbean coast of Costa Rica.

When I arrived to Puerto Viejo I instantly fell in love with it. I don't think I have ever seen so many outstanding colours combined together. Nature will always remain the best painter for me. The moment i put my feet onto the ground, there were at least 10 different voices shouting and offering hostels, hotels, trips, advice, laundry, rentals, souvenirs. Each of the sellers would touch you to gain their attention. Sometimes the only way to make them stop is by purchasing something.
I bought a little bracelet and started walking away from the hungry crowd.

I walked the main road, looking for an accommodation as I haven't booked anything online. I was visiting the place in low season so I didn't have to worry about availabilities or prices . I found a little hostel after around 20 minutes walk. I took a private little apartment which costed around 20 dollars. BARGAIN ! I was very happy with it. It was run by an old local lady who offered to do my laundry for free and even cooked a meal which was absolutely delicious.

I unpacked my belongings and left the house. I decided to rent a bicycle and visit the nearby beaches; Punta Cockles, Punta Uva and Punta Manzanillo. All of them equally beautiful. They were all within 20 km.

White sand, palm trees and turquoise water made me feel very relaxed. It was my very first time near the caribbean sea so I was totally charmed with it. The restaurants were mostly empty so the owners were giving me a begging look to come in. The loud chat of the sellers who outshouted the music , created a nice ambience. Sandy roads were sending clouds of dirt into the air every time someone drove on it only for it to disappear a minute later due to a wind.

When I arrived to the beach I drunk a beer and went straight into the water, where I observed the fishes swimming around my legs. My camera wouldn't allow me to take pictures under water so I have very few pictures from that day since i spent most of it in the sea.

Sort:  

Cool, I love to read about backpacking - followed!

Thank you so much for reading. More to come soon :)

Sound amazing. What a beautiful environment :-)

Costa Rica is one of its kind. Puerto Viejo remains my favourite destination so far :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29