United Kingdom though my lens - Backpacking the UK - First destination is Norwich!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians! The holiday season is upon us and it is such a great time of the year! This time of the year always brings back fond memories of my travel across the United Kingdom with a backpack and a camera. I had a blast of a time and really enjoyed the UK experience. From the food to the beer, to the people and the place, everything was just beautiful!

I backpacked across the UK, sometimes cycling across places, other times taking the train, and yet, at other times, just walking along. It was a great experience and I got to see so much in the one month that I was backpacking across the countries of England, Wales and Scotland.

One of the things that I love about being in Europe. It is so easy to get anywhere! Hop on a plane, and you are in your destination anywhere on the continent in less than two hours. With flights departing every other hour, travel across Europe is one of the easiest things anywhere on the planet!

I would like to share my backpacking experience across the UK in pictures and words. I love taking photographs and my DSLR camera and the tripod are my constant companions on most adventures.

On my backpacking trip across the UK, I started from Rotterdam, the Netherlands and took a ferry across to Harwich on the east coast of the UK. The ferry took a good 6 hours to cross the English Channel. From there, a short train ride brought me to Norwich. I stayed with a friend who was pursuing her internship at Norwich.

Norwich was the starting point of my travel across the UK. Here are some of the pictures I clicked of this nice little British town.

IMG_0028-3000.jpg

Norwich Castle

IMG_0043-3000.jpg

Norwich Cathedral, one of the greatest cathedral in England.

Norwich Cathedral has the second largest cloisters in England. The cathedral close is one of the largest in England and one of the largest in Europe and has more people living within it than any other close. The cathedral spire, measuring at 315 ft (96 m), is the second tallest in England despite being partly rebuilt after being struck by lightning in 1169, just 23 months after its completion, which led to the building being set on fire.

IMG_0056-3000.jpg

Interior of Closters at Norwich Cathedral.

I love the intricately carved and arching columns on the roof. They make for a great picture!

IMG_0051-3000.jpg

Nave, Norwich Cathedral.

IMG_0049-3000.jpg

Door at the west face of the Norwich Cathedral.

IMG_0295-3000.jpg

The Quire, Norwich Cathedral

IMG_0293-3000.jpg

West face of the Cathedral.

IMG_0294-3000.jpg

Glass painted windows and arching ceiling at Norwich Cathedral.

IMG_0290-3000.jpg

Big Brain

I found this cool series of different sculptures while walking around the city at night. The big brain by far was the most interesting!

IMG_0296-3000.jpg

Public Library

IMG_0286-3000.jpg

Medieval architecture building in the center of town

UK_2014_Norwich-0026-3000.jpg

Norwich Panaroma.jpg

Panorama of Norwich.

I really had a great time in Norwich. This was my first taste of the UK and I absolutely loved the way it felt! It is probably one of the coolest places to travel. UK has a bit of everything for the traveller, from cities steeped richly in history, to open countrysides, oceans, and medieval castles! I cannot wait to be back there again, and planning on exploring some of the places I missed out during my backpacking trip. Hopefully , in 2018, I will be able to add more to my UK experience!

It feels great to be back on Steemit and be able to write articles and share stories again. After my surgery for a broken wrist, it felt difficult to get back to writing, and honestly, the motivation was just gone. But I got my wrist mobilized again yesterday, and I feel great to get back to writing!

More posts in the coming days!

Until then, keep calm and steem on!


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing posts with us. It added many things to my knowledge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78