Hiking in Colca Canyon

in #travel7 years ago

Hi Steemians


I thought its about time for another travel post :)

Steem let me introduce you to Colca Canyon more than twice as deep as the Grand Canyon, this incredible place boasts some impressive scenery
18275241_10212335648895376_7553456678413328783_n.jpg

Created by the Colca River in southern Peru, the canyon is located about 160km northwest of Arequipa.

Typically people (tourists) hire a guide or go on an organised tour, however this is one of the few places backers can do completely themselves giving more freedom and saving a wee bit of money ;) (I will do a post detailing how to do this later ;))

18222248_10212335647575343_2667941630574240755_n.jpg

Colca Canyon is also a hot spot for twitchers, its a great spot for watching Condors (the wingspan of which is only matched by sea birds). Unfortunately we didn't see one close enough to grab a picture :( Though we were later told by some people watching us from above that a pair flew right over our head :/ :/

18268162_10212335648375363_5427188239097646625_n.jpg

Highlights include, geysers, thermal springs, raging rapids and of course the spectacular views!! ohh and did i forget to mention there are also kittens!!!!

18268469_10212335647855350_1328880969615502381_n.jpg

Pictures take on a Moto G smartphone

If you enjoyed this post check out my blog :)

The-sassy-owl

Sort:  

Your pict showing the beuty of Colca Canyon. It suitable places for Movie Maker. They have to choose that place.
Visit my blog for my latest post about Golden Beach Resort. Let's check it out.

Thanks dude for your kind words!! :) :) :) I have dropped a follow, that resort looks insane!! Maybe when I get my big steem breakthrough I will be able to afford places like that ;) Look forward to seeing your future posts dude :)

Love Peru, and Colca Canyon even rings a bell - the picturse don´t though :D UP UP

CHeers dude :) Peru is pretty amazing - just got to save for the next trip now

Love the pictures, and also the cat. :-)

ahaha thank dude, I couldn't resist putting the Cat in at the end! But honestly, South America seems obsessed with Kittens!! the internet would love it! :) :)

Would love to visit this place one time!

For sure!! I will be doing a post in the future on how to travel it without a guide :) any questions etc, let me know!

I will keep this in mind :)

Very beautiful photos and cute cat.

Nice pictures, following you now :)

Cheers mate! Just saw your travel cat post ;) dropped you a follow too!

Oh wow. What a great post. Glad I found it on facebook. Nice pictures. Thanks for bringing your travels to all of us around the globe.

Thanks! Im glad your enjoying the posts :)

Color me jealous. South America has some amazing terrain, some of the greatest natural wonders in this world, unfortunely large swathes of it aren't very safe. My GF is from Venezuela, northern shore on the Caribbean, southern reaches contain Angel Falls and numerous other incredible places, but unfortunately her family flat out refuses to let me visit the country due to how volatile and dangerous it is right now, and how a white ginger with an Imperial (the US is "the empire" to them) accent might as well have a target on his forehead.

Its a real shame, because your right - it offers some of the most spectacular scenery in the world - however the political situation prevents one from exploring.

Im remaining positive though - the south American people are strong and super friendly - they will find a way :)

That must have been a wonderful trip! I hope I get to visit some day.

Dude you so should! Drop me a message if your going and I will let you know my fav parts ;)

Peru's a great place. Hope i could visit there someday..😊

You absolutely should dude, has some of the best scenery I have ever seen! Check out my post on rainbow mountain: https://steemit.com/travel/@the-sassy-owl/global-warming-reveals-spectacular-scene - this was probably my fav place ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44