You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Planned Vacation vs Winging It!

in #travel7 years ago

That's awesome. I'd love to drive all the way up to Seattle too, but that's just not in the plan. I never made it up as far as Seattle & Oregon, would love to travel that part of the country sooner or later.

This whole thing started because I wanted to check out PCH, then I decided on the extra destinations along the way.

I think unplanned is always best for adventures :) Do you have any must see tips for places to check out along PCH?

Sort:  

I can't really remember now. It was a long time ago. The red woods stick in my memory and the coast but you can see that from the road and just stop when you want to.

We stayed in an amazing youth hostel I remember which you might be able to find. It was in a building joint to a lighthhouse and had a hot tub on the cliff top.

Sitting in the tub with a load of fellow travellers, drinking beer and watching the light pan across the water and then disappear into the darkness was pure magic and something I'll never forget.

Another place that's not on the PCH and is not well known is a derelict mining town called Bodie. It's in northern CA so might be too far north for you this time. But put it on your list.

The towns folk just upped and left at the end of the gold rush and, because the town is far from the main route, it's been preserved very much as it was. There are clothes still hanging on the back of doors and books in the school room.

We heard about it from a UK friend. None of our friends in the US had heard of it!

The Redwoods are definitely on my list of things to see. Just added Bodie to my map. That looks really interesting. I may just keep adding places to see, then decide as I travel what I feel up to.

I can't wait for my first sun set on the coast! Magical is probably the perfect word to describe it too. Thanks for the ideas, much appreciated :)

You're welcome! Looking forward to reading all about it. And thanks for the upvotes. They are very much appreciated! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64375.18
ETH 2615.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85