Random Walk Series #1

in #travel6 years ago

I was walking back to my hotel last night and had to take a detour at the area around the White House. (The streets are blocked off and you can’t walk near the White House like you could in an earlier era). So I headed down some streets I’d never seen before and here are some things I thought were interesting on my walk:

image

The Daughters of the American Revolution is an organization whose members are descendants of people who fought in the Revolution. This statue is in an alcove on a side street. My grandmother was a member of the DAR. She died many years ago, but this statue brought me fond memories of her.

image

I think that many of the more modern buildings in Washington DC are really ugly, however these windows reflected the evening sky beautifully.

image

General José de San Martín was an early leader of the movement for independence in Argentina and Peru from the Spanish Empire. He's memorialized in Washington by this statue. bold

Thanks for reading!

©️Todd Durell 2018. All rights reserved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50