Rhodes - Back to the Past. Very Romantic Island / Родос - назад в прошлое. Очень романтичный остров (featuring @aksinya as author)

in #travel8 years ago

The sister of my husband is very fond of Greece and its islands. She studies Greek and visited almost all islands and continent, of course. But her famous island is Rhodes and under her recommendations we decided to visit it.

Сестра моего мужа – фанат Греции и греческих островов. Она даже учит
греческий язык, посетила почти все острова и, конечно, континент, но самый ее любимый остров – это Родос. И по ее рекомендации мы решили туда съездить.

enter image description here

We stayed at the city of Rhodes not far from the old city surrounded with fort walls. The length of the walls is about 4 km and it is considered the longest one in Europe. When I was there I had a feeling I was transferred to the past. Not in vain it is called "The Knights City".

Мы остановились в городе Родос недалеко от старого города, окруженного
крепостными стенами. Длина Родосской крепости около 4 км, что делает
ее самой длинной в Европе. Попав туда, складывается ощущение, что ты
перенесся в прошлое. Недаром его называют "Городом рыцарей".

enter image description here

enter image description here

One of our favorite places was the port Mandraki. The port is guarded with 2 statues, statues of a deer and a doe. It was our beloved place as every evening we were sitting on the bench there and drinking champagne. But couple of times we had a disgusting guest, a rat. And both times I screamed like crazy. That is why I have a strong association with this port - romance and a rat.

Одно из самых наших любимых мест был порт Мандраки. Порт охраняют две
статуи, статуя оленя и лани. Любимое, потому что каждый вечер мы сидели там на лавочке и пили шампанское. Но пару вечеров у нас был принеприятнейший гость, крыса. Я визжала как сумасшедшая. Поэтому с этим портом у меня определённые ассоциации - романтика и крыса.

enter image description here
Вот эта лавочка, но мужчина - не мой муж))

We rented a car and for 2 weeks we drove around the island not one time. No doubts we visited one of the biggest and most beautiful Lindos Acropolis. It is situated high in the mountain and you can reach it on foot or with a donkey. My husband went on foot and I "enjoyed" riding that nice animal. If you want to touch the past, you should definitely visit it.

Мы брали в аренду машину, и за 2 недели мы ни один раз объехали весь
остров. Конечно же, мы посетили Акрополь Линдоса. Это один из самых
больших и красивых акрополей. Он находится высоко на горе, и есть два
варианта как туда добраться. Пешком или на ослике. Муж пошел пешком, а
я решила "насладиться" ездой на этом милом животном. Если вы хотите
дотронуться до прошлого, вам туда.

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

Another interesting place where you can breath the past is an ancient city of Kamiros. It is situated on the hill not far from the sea. Walking along its streets you can vividly imagine life of the people lived at that time. You could see ruins of buildings, churches, baths and even some pipes. It is amazing that at that time they already had water supply. That city was one of the main city on the island in 3-2 centuries B.C.

Еще одно очень интересное место, где вы можете почувствовать дыхание
прошлого - это древний город Камирос. Он находится на небольшой горе
недалеко от моря. И, гуляя по нему, можно живо представить жизнь людей,
которые тогда жили. Остались руины домов, храмов, ванны, несколько
труб. Удивительно, что в то время уже был водопровод. Этот город в 3-
2 веках до н.э. считался одним из главных городов острова.

enter image description here

enter image description here

One of the most unforgettable trip was a visit of 7 springs. The thing is that there was a tunnel underground and they say if you walk inside of it you would get rid of 7 sins and would look 7 years younger. I didn't know that legend but I went first. And it was one of the most weird commotion I had in my life. It was a very long tunnel which seemed to me endless. Before entering you needed to have shoes off and walked in water. But who knew it would be absolute darkness. And I walked the first. The width of the tunnel was not more than 1 meter. I didn't see anything and only with my elbows I felt the borders of that tunnel. I scratched my elbows to blood. I screamed from horror. I didn't do that on purpose, I was really very scared. Thank God in about 50 meters there was a hatch and long - awaited light. I had scars for a long time which reminded me about that adventure.
I hoped that at least I got rid of 7 sins. And I even perhaps looked 7 years younger. But I had a feeling that I became 7 years older because of that horrible experience.

Одна из самых незабываемых поездок была посещение семи источников.
Дело в том, что под землей есть туннель, пройдя через который, как
говорят, ты избавляешься от семи грехов и молодеешь на 7 лет. Я не
знала эту легенду, но рванула первой. Одно из самых жутких потрясений
я испытала в этом туннеле. Это длинный туннель, который мне показался
бесконечным. Перед входом надо снять обувь и идти по воде. Но кто же
знал, что там будет кромешная темнота. А я шла первой. Ширина туннеля
была около 1 м. Я не видела ни зги, и только локтями я ощущала границы
этого тунеля. Содрала локти я до крови. Я визжала как сумасшедшая. Не
специально, мене было, честно, очень страшно. Слава Богу, метров через
50 сверху был люк и долгожданный свет. У меня долгое время были шрамы
на локтях, напоминающие мне это приключение. Надеюсь, я хотя бы
избавилась от 7 грехов. И, может, даже помолодела. Но, скорее всего,
наоборот постарела лет на 7 из - за пережитого страха.

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

We also visited the Butterfly valley, but unfortunately there were no butterflies at that season and we just admired little waterfalls and lakes, and also enjoyed unique aroma. The point is that there were special trees there which emitted an odor of vanilla attracting butterflies.

Съездили мы и в долину бабочек, но, к сожалению, бабочек нет в это время года, и мы просто полюбовались маленькими водопадами и озерами, а
также насладились необыкновенным ароматом. Дело в том, что там растут
особые деревья, которые источают запах ванили, который привлекает
бабочек.

enter image description here

The tunnel in the park of 7 springs was not the only my commotion during this trip. We stopped at the chapel of the Saint Panteleimon who cures people. As I have some health problems we decided to climb there. The problem was I am in horror of altitude and that little road led high to the top of the mountain and it was without any railings or fences and the slope was very steep. My husband was not that religious but he insisted on our visiting it and he carried me. I screamed from horror. Poor other tourists. When we got to it I was in so big shock that burst into crying and prayed not about healing but about safe going down. And my prayers helped, going down was much more easier.))) At that time my husband was not my husband yet and that exploit strengthened my feelings to him.

Туннель в парке 7 источников оказался не единственном моем потрясением
на Родосе. Мы проезжали мимо часовни святого Пантелеймона, который
исцеляет людей. А так как у меня есть некие проблемы со здоровьем, мы
решили туда забраться. Проблема в том, что я боюсь высоты, а дорожка
туда была без перил и каких- либо ограждений и вела высоко - высоко в
гору, я отказалась туда идти. Мой муж, будучи не особо верующим
человеком, настоял и понес меня туда. Как же я кричала от страха.
Бедные туристы, конечно, мягко говоря, были очень удивлены. Когда мы
туда добрались, я была в таком шоке, что разрыдалась на вершине и
молила не об исцелении, а о том, чтобы мы благополучно оттуда
спустились. Молитвы помогли, спустились мы очень легко.))) Тогда мой
муж еще не был моим мужем, и этот подвиг очень меня подкупил.

enter image description here

enter image description here

enter image description here

I can't miss mentioning excellent beaches at Rhodes. As we had a car, we swam in many beautiful bays.

Нельзя не отметить отличные пляжи. Так как у нас был автомобиль, мы
купались в очень многих красивейших бухтах.

enter image description here

enter image description here

At Rhodes I had my birthday. We usually try to combine my birthday with our trips. And we celebrated that remarkable event in the excellent restaurant with great view.

На Родосе у меня случился день рождения. Мы обычно подгадываем, чтобы
наши поездки совпадали с моим днем рождением. И этот знаменательный
день мы отметили в отличном ресторане с шикарнейшим видом.

enter image description here

To vary impressions we had a ferry boat to the island Simi. Very nice island, where we had lunch and swam.

Для разнообразия мы на пароме посетили остров Сими. Очень милый
островок, где мы обедали и поплавали.

enter image description here

enter image description here
My favorite picture

enter image description here

Last year we visited Greece, the little city near to Thessalonika. it was very remarkable trip. I will tell about it in one of my next posts. Another point of destination in our travel list is Corfu. I can't wait meeting it.

В прошлом году мы ездили в Грецию, в городочек неподалеку Салоников.
Это была необыкновенная и судьбоносная поездка. Расскажу о ней в одном
из моих следующих постов. Также следующим пунктом нашего назначения
является остров Корфу. Очень жду знакомства с ним.



If you like this article not follow only me, but also follow the author - @aksinya


All STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author. Все SD за пост получит автор.

Sort:  

Nice photos...Great and Awesome place

I love Rhodes it is one of my most favorite islands here at Greece.
If you are still around you should visit Santorini, I promise you, you won't want to leave ever again from the island.

Welcome to Greece @terrycraft have a nice stay.

it was some years ago.)) I heard about Santorini too. Will add to our travel list too. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44