Quokkas at Rottnest Island

in #travel6 years ago

20180216_151208.jpg

Let me introduce this cute lil guy!... he is just one of the many quokkas you can see if you visit Rottnest Island, just off the coast of Perth, Western Australia.

20170313_154310.jpg

They are super friendly and not too shy of humans... although they probably should be since some pathetic douchebags have been known to hurt these cute lil critters! They can be found all over the island and seem to really like Atomic Tomato flavoured Samboy chips :)

20170313_112204.jpg

20170313_104133.jpg

We spent the day at Rottnest in March of last year, we caught the ferry from Fremantle and were able to see the whole island with the help of our hired bikes.

20170313_120421.jpg

As well as free roaming quokkas we also saw lots of peacocks, including this one who decided to come into the restaurant that we were having lunch at.

20170313_142755.jpg

Rottnest is also home to some of the countries best and most deserted beaches. It is def worth a visit if you find yourself going west!

20170313_123541.jpg

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Thanks so much :D

My favorite location in whole Australia and quokka so kind and cute. definetely a must for who is going to Western Australia I wrote also a post about time ago

Such a beautiful place! Seems like you enjoyed it as much as me :D

Well I realize that you are from Queensland aren't you ? I also enjoyed that part of Australia during my working holiday visa

Yeah, I'm in Brisbane.. Stradbroke and Moreton Island are awesome islands not far from here... they dont have any quokkas though.. did you get to visit them when you were here?

Unfortunately I have not been there I spent time in Gold Coast, Brisbane, Noosa, Hervey bay Fraser Island, Airlie Beach Whitsundays Islands, Townsville , Magnetic Islands, Cairns. My favorite Whitehaven beach Whitsundays and Lake Mc Kenzie Fraser Island

Shame you didnt get to go but so awesome you got to go to all those places! Whitehaven is absolutley beautiful and lake Mackenzie is great too! You must of travelled Australia quite well when you were here :)

About those islands it would be another reason to come back :) I did my best to travel and visit as much as possible but you very well Australia is a huge country I wish I could visit it more

Hello, I think you'll enjoy participating in my challenge. Guess the location and win 0.1 SBD. go to my latest post, guess the location and win 0.1 SBD. Where Is This
WhereIsThis_Red_Small.png

Sounds like an interesting challenge! Will check it out :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=terrybogan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=quokkas-at-rottnest-island


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57