Tenille's Travel Tales Part 1: Frankfurt, Germany

in #travel8 years ago (edited)


As I promised in my IntroduceYourself Post, here is the beginning of my travel diaries!
I'll post often so remember to follow me! Hope you enjoy :)


I'm guess I should start with a disclaimer; this story is not about my very first trip to Europe. My very first trip to Europe was to France when I was 15! I was in french immersion from kindergarten to grade 12, and when I was in grade 11, our class went on this France trip! Can you imagine; dealing with 30 15-year old kids that have all been best friends basically their whole lives, on a trip together, in France! Needless to say we were a bit out of control – but in a very PG, 15 year old kid style :P So I'm not going to start with this trip, because it wasn't when I truly caught the travel bug. I think back then, I was more excited to be ANYWHERE with all my best friends. So I'm going to start a few years later, my second trip to Europe!

I was about 23 years old. I had been dating a military guy for 4 years (let's just call him BF). BF unfortunately got shipped out to Afghanistan for 6 months. It was heartbreaking and scary having him gone that long, fighting a war. The only good side about it was that he got a paid trip (leave, they call it) basically anywhere of his choosing, with his significant other paid for as well! Europe was always at the top of our lists, so that's what we chose.

We both flew to Frankfurt, #Germany to meet up. I got my luggage, walked out the doors and BF was waiting for me, but I didn't see him and walked right by him :P So he decided to sneak up on me. Scared me at first, but quickly turned into excitement! It was so amazing seeing him after 3 months of only a few phone calls here and there (Skype, Facebook, all these didn't exist yet :P) We took the train into the downtown area – which was harder than we thought it would be, since everything is in German! But we eventually figured it out.

We toured Frankfurt, drank some beers and did lots of shopping (which I LOVE!) Malls are 7 stories high and slanted! It was pretty crazy to see! (PS The pic below is me after a few beers..... :/ )

We were starving by this point. So, our first European meal....Pizza Hut! :/ Haha how terrible is that!!! We're young, we're hungry, what ya gonna do :P But it was quick and tasty, as Pizza Hut normally is. I had a Pepsi I was sipping on but BF kept telling me 'Drink your Pepsi, drink your Pepsi' I couldn't figure out why he was insisting I drink this Pepsi! So I drink it as fast as I can :P And what there at the bottom of my glass? A ring he bought me while he had some time in Dubai! He snuck that sucker right in there! It was such a big surprise since earlier he nonchalantly told me he didn't buy anything while in Dubai. How sweet :)

After some food, we wandered around some more, stopped for some more beers (of course!) then decided to call it a day since we'd both been awake for way too long. So we jumped on the train to headed back to our hotel, which was harder than we thought. But only because we BOTH fell asleep on the train and missed our stop! So we had to get off that train, and jump on another one that was headed back that way – but then we weren't sure if we actually missed our stop....so off the train again! (we were VERY confused!) We finally asked some people for help. They barely spoke English and we were speaking way too fast for them, but we finally figured it out and made it back to our hotel!

One short day in Frankfurt (for now...) because tomorrow is.......

STAY TUNED!!!! (I promise it gets crazier!! :P)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61063.93
ETH 2667.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61