One city and two sides, the story of Mostar, My holiday funded by STEEMIT!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0920.JPG


Mostar

As I mentioned in my previous posts, I am on a a journey thanks to my earnings that I get on Steemit. In the third day in Mostar, I decided to dig into city's history more. Mostar is a crucial city where they are two big societies live. Because of the war in 1993 , city seems like divided into two parts. On one side of the bridge, people are usually muslim and the other side is populated with orthodox Croatians. In the last day of my staying, I decided to go to Croatian side to see how the life is.

First of all, it is still possible to see the effects of the war everywhere. There are many graffitis on the walls which I believe that give strong messages. The one that I like most is just above this paragraph. The message that is given on this graffiti is really powerful People love mostar and want to have peace. At the same time, it is possible to see the traces of the bullets on the walls. You can still feel that all the things that happened in the city can't be forgotten, because they are everywhere.


IMG_0858.JPG

IMG_0852.JPG


Traces of the war

Because of the war that happened between two sides, there are so many differences in both sides of the city. Even though it is considered as a Bosnian city, there are many flags of Croatia in the side of the city where people who feel like Croatians live. Both sides have their own teams which symbolise their identities actually. The mostar bridge was destroyed by Croatians in 1993, but now it is the bridge that is supposed to connect both societies.

When we look at some walls, it is possible to see the effects of it on the society. I don't know why, but they still keep the old buildings which are full of bullet traces on them. They might be good to show people what happened in this city before, but I think in some point, people must leave the hatred aside. If they keep the pain in their hearts forever, both sides can never come together!


IMG_0983.JPG

IMG_0957.JPG


Mostar

When we look at the picture above, it is possible to see the symbols of the both religions. This is the unique side of the city which makes it possible to hear the prayers from the mosques and bells from the churches in the city. That is what we all need actually to have more diversity in our societies. People in this are learning how to live together despite their differences. This is what makes Mostar so special in my mind. Bosnia and Herzegovina is a good example to show this diversity.

There is one interesting place that both sides meet in a very interesting way. When all these nations were together under the power of Yugoslavia, they had to fight together for the sake of their country. In Partian Memorial cemetery, they are all buried together no matter what beliefs or thoughts they have. I saw the memorial during my stay in Mostar. There are just some white stones on the way, it is not possible to get information about those people by looking at the memorial, but it is known that they were fighting altogether for their unity.


IMG_0887.JPG

IMG_0909.JPG


Life in Mostar

After visiting all these places and having lots of observations in both sides of the town, it was time to eat something nice. As I told you, steemians before, the food in Bosnia is just amazing. It is both cheap and delicious as people in this country have really low salaries. The prices in the country create a paradise for people who go there for holidays, so I tried to enjoy as much as possible!

One of the people that I met in hostel offered me to try a famous place in Mostar where I can have one of the best diner-kebabs in Europe, maybe in the world. There were 3 people who were making diners for locals in a small caravan. It was really cosy place , not like luxurious places that you can see in big cities like Paris or London. In return of 6 euros, I got a big portion of meat in an amazing döner that you can see in the photo below.


IMG_0871.JPG

IMG_0872.JPG


Final Note

These are the notes that I experienced in the third day of my stay in Mostar. I will be writing more about my traveling experiences in Balkans. You are welcome to post what you think about them and contribute your knowledge. Thanks for reading and have a great day, Steem on!

I have been traveling alone for a while and it is really amazing how I can meet people from different nations of the world. I highly recommend you to go on similar adventures!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for the post and photos, all of them are so good!

you are welcome, thanks for your support.

Thanks @teachblogger that was a good read. Diversity in society is a must. Increase the peace :) the food looks amazing as well ;)

Awesome post @teachblogger. I love the fact that you choose to talk about a bit of everything... from touchy subjects about the war, to landscapes and delicious foods.
I was just talking today about food trucks and trying to convince my boyfriend that those are the best places to have a real taste of local food. And cheap to top it off!

Thank you so much for appreciation my work. Yeah! The one I tried in Bosnia was amazing! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56