Hostels , the feeling of home while you are on your adventure!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0618.JPG


Hostels

As I was traveling in Balkans last week, I preferred to stay in hostels where we all can find in many cities of our world. Hostels are the places which are cheaper than hotel. People may think that these places are not safe enough to have your holiday, but the reality is different as there is a big competition between them especially ıf you are traveling in a popular city like Paris, Prague and Berlin. As there is a big competition between them, the prices are usually cheap. I paid about 6 euros for each night in the city.

Hostels are the great places where you can meet lots of new people. The photo that I took above was in Mostar, Bosnia. The owner of the hostel was so cool that we became like a family only in three days. When I asked her the rules of the hostel, she was refusing my request and asking me to call the place as home. During my stay, he literally did everything to make me feel like I was at home.


IMG_1016.JPG


International atmosphere

When you are on your holiday alone, you sometimes need some people whom you can share your stories with. Hostels are the best places which give you these opportunities. It is possible to meet people from all around the world. In my last holiday, I had a chance to meet people from Australia, Chile, Germany, Norway etc. Isn't it amazing? Imagine yourself staying in a hotel and spending your all time alone in your room, it would be so boring!

When I was in Mostar, Bosnia, there was a German guy that you can see in the photo above. He was doing voluntarily work in Mostar, trying to connect Muslim and Orthodox children whose relations were destroyed during the war in Balkans. That was really extraordinary thing on my holiday as I learned lots of things from him. By the way, he was planning to use cryptocurrencies to get the attention of people so that they can support volunteers. I also told him my blog on steemit!


IMG_0594.JPG


Your house

Some hostels are like houses you have in your own country. The one I stayed in Mostar was basically like a traditional house in the center of the city. For these places, it is not a big deal to be in the center even though their prices are usually low. When we look at the chains of hotels , they might be a bit outside the center of the city because of their high expenses. I have already stayed in many hostels and all most all of them were in the center of the cities.

All hostels have some common areas where all traveller can spend time. It is possible to cook your own food by using all the tools that hostels provide for you. If you create a good contact with your holiday-mates that you meet randomly in hostels and stay there for a bit longer time, you can even have the festival of international cuisines in the hostel. I love it a lot as spending and chatting with people from different cultures always expands your mind!


IMG_0595.JPG

IMG_0602.JPG


Notes

In the hostel that I stayed in Mostar, there were personal messages and drawings that had been left by other travelers. It was nice to see their harmony, decorating the wall and giving opinions to the future travellers. I felt that these is no border between nations when you have chance to talk to their people. When we only watch what is shown on media, we can't learn what is happening in other parts of the world. Hostels are great places to understand other nations much better.

There were also some notes that were made by the owner of the hostel. The messages on them were all international, inspiring people to go on new adventures , break their traditional stereotypes. We all must break the barriers in our minds If we want to have more diversity in your lives. We all have differences depending on the places that we were born and raised, but this is what makes our world beautiful, traveling is a great way of making these things possible.


IMG_0605.JPG

IMG_0611.JPG


Backpacking

On the other hand, If you are into luxury and want everything perfect in your stay without meeting any people on the way, hostels wouldn't be the places for you. If you are staying in a hostel, you had better be quite open-minded and outgoing person, because there will be always someone who is going to ask you where you are from, what you are doing and where your next destination is.

When I was in Novi Sad, I met a great Australian girl. She has been traveling for about 2 months. As there weren't many people, we started chatting for hours and hours, exchanging our cultures which is really a great way of learning. As we are friends now thanks to our stay in the hostel, I have got the friend now who is planning to visit me in a few months. This is really amazing!


IMG_0631.JPG

IMG_0620.JPG


Adventure

When I was leaving the hostel in Mostar, there were words on the wall which mean good bye in different languages. That also shows the great diversity in hostels. Personally, I will prefer to stay in hostels when I go on a new holiday. It really makes my holidays more meaningful and it helps me to get some amazing experiences that I will never forget.

What do you prefer in your holiday? What are your experiences like in hostels so far? Are you a person who is a big fan of luxury or prefer to enjoy the diversity of cultures in places like hostels? I would surely love to hear your experiences.Thank you for reading my post and Steem on!


IMG_0630.JPG


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

WOW steemer,
Great post . I followed you :) Please follow me :)

Amazing photography.
Travel is very beautiful.i appreciate your blog.
Thanks for sharing this post.
Best of luck.

amazing photography.. i appreciate your life.. wonderful travel. Thanks for sharing this blog.. Carry on..

Your post made me want to get back on the hostel track! So many great people to meet... Such awesome memories made. I was a huge hostel fan in my 20's ...

We all must break the barriers in our minds If we want to have more diversity in your lives.

YES to that!
Happy travels @teachblogger

It is never too late to stay in hostels and meet new people! 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54