What I Found In The Furthest Corner of North America

in #travel5 years ago

So, there's a special kind of restlessness that makes your quit your job and end up here. I travelled to St. John's, Newfoundland- the further point north east of my continent. I did actually pick it on the map for this reason. Wouldn't you be curious too, if it just looks like another beach or something magical was awaiting?

Screen Shot 2018-08-29 at 6.01.34 PM.jpg

I'll skip to the most interest part. There were a bunch of old buildings with seemingly satantic drawings- I can always appreciate good art so this was a nice find. The thing was, I had to rent a jeep and go with into the wilderness to find this place. It was a bit unsettling to be so far out and along and come across something like this, it made me wonder what I might find next. I felt kind of like Indiana Jones in a way, or just someone very far away from home and no cell service.

Screen Shot 2018-08-29 at 5.20.30 PM.jpg

The best find in the furthest corner was some amazing views of the ocean. Something about the water just smelled like it was the first waves to reach the continent I live on. It was peaceful, calm waters and the land seemed mostly untouched. Most people may take this trip solely for the photo opportunity, however it offered a moment that I'll aways remember.

IMG_1488.jpg

For reference, I've included a map below to show you where St. Johns, Newfoundland is. I wonder if the people who live there know that it is the furthest corner of North America- and then, I wonder if it means anything to them or if they even care. I will say.. they had great seafood up there, go figure.

Screen Shot 2019-01-04 at 10.56.44 AM.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34