Stretching it out

in #travel5 years ago

It has been a pretty long day of travel and a few minor issues, but now I have had a chance to get some actual work done to prep for delivery tomorrow.

This is where I have chosen:

It is a little breezy up here but the day has been close to 30 and I have been dragging a suitcase, a laptop bag and a camera sling bag for 15,000 steps so far today. I think I could have walked from Finland to Germany.

It is going to be a pretty intense week as the training I was meant to deliver has been altered heavily from the usual plans and that means that I have to gap fill on the fly, to fill space. The training is a full day but originally only had 4 hours worth of material assigned to it, so it was going to be a challenge. Now, it is a full-day and the material has been stripped down to about an hours worth at best. I am going to have to talk a lot and unlike @theycallmedan's "best listened to at 1.5x speed", I am going to have to talk at 0.5x.

I can ramble with the best of them but stretching 1 hour of content into 8 might be a little beyond my range. For a mental picture, imagine teaching people how to use Google search, but they don't even need the possible filters.

I do have a nice room for the next 3 nights at least though. It is a pity I am alone though.

While I do enjoy the "me time" where I don't have a thousand one things to do meaning I can focus on what I should be doing, it sucks that I can't have my family with me. At some point I think we will try to set up some of these trips for an extended holiday, but our daughter can't travel out of Finland at the moment.

I wonder what she would say about these fellows?

They were sitting in the window of a little pop art gallery close by as I went to find food and while it was closed, I took a few pics through the window. It isn't my kind of style to hang, but I do like pop art a lot for what it is. If I had a large minimalist house, I think I could have a piece or two of bright work to contrast the flat white or concrete walls.

It kind of makes me want to art a bit again. It has been a long time since I have done any drawing and hope that I have time and patience one day. Patience is an issue for my drawing as I rarely finish and I know that if I try to work while I have other things on my mind, it will just be a waste of time. It has always been one of those things I have had to "be in the mood" for as I am not talented enough to be able to get an adequate result if I am not.

It is also a problem because other than a drawing in a book and my own enjoyment, there is very little personal utility in it as I wouldn't put my drawings on the wall, at least at the place we have. At the moment, there are really only three pieces of art on our wall - a large canvas abstract piece in our living room I made to add some color, a charcoal work in my office which is another semi-abstract piece and, our daughters footprints in pink paint that she and I made as the first Mother's Day gift.

It feels like it is getting late here, but it is only 10 pm. I have a bit more work to do and and early start, but I might have a poke around Steem to see what is going on and perhaps something will take my fancy and I will write. While I like to share these kinds of posts from time to time too, I prefer bouncing content off of what is going on in the community as I feel that it has value for more people.

Having said that though, I am a strong believer in the person over the piece, meaning that while individual pieces might vary in quality, content and personal value - consistency is in the person themselves and getting to know who someone is goes a long way in connecting with the work. when I feel I have an understanding of someone, I am much more open to their content too and as I read their work, I feel that I can better relate and, be more open to listening.

Sometimes getting to know the person also has the opposite effect and no matter what they say, I feel like doing this:

I restrain myself usually.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Lol. That is the perfect gnome to place at the front door to welcome guests. I also like to get to know the person as I think that is more important than the piece they have written.

Imagine how many of them would be stolen. :)

Going to be busy luxurious day...but alone....😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Enjoy. Don't speak too fast.

Posted using Partiko Android

0.3x might be okay

Lucky I’m not doing it...Would be done in 10 minutes with the speed I talk.

You get any time off to take a look around your location? Germany right? I heard there’s a lot of Germans there.

Very little time to look around but will try tonight. There are only small windows available to do anything personal and that is also needed to talk to home.

Weather is good and people seem nice enough.

You should use that last picture as your avatar :')

I should but, you'd miss my smile.

lovely painting, it's so cool. I think you deserve a shade for cool post.

!SHADE 1

Posted using Partiko Android



Hi tarazkp the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62