Final moments finally spent

in #travel5 years ago

For my last few hours in Belgrade Serbia, I have chosen to walk around the city streets randomly to see what I could find.

This is a collection of shots that have come strait out of the camera with the first being a meta shot of an advert for Mini that was being shot on a side street off Skadarska. I think it is quite a nice shot with a balance between confusion and the spatial rest offered by the massive reflector that frames the model. I stood and watched for a few minutes as the director, camera man and a few assistants discussed how to set up the shot and position the model - and the five dogs she'd be walking.

As you can see from one of the pictures in the series, there is a little bit of traffic and at several intersections there are police directing the flow. This means that I don't have much time to write as I will have to make sure I get a taxi back to the hotel early enough so as not to miss my afternoon flight.

It is a pity though, because the weather has cleared up and the sun is shining just as I will have to wave goodbye to Serbia. It is always a little bittersweet to leave a country I think as while I am looking forward to getting home, I also know I may never get the opportunity to return and it is worse when I feel that I haven't taken in enough of the place.

It is what it is though and I really need some recovery time after this trip as it has really worn me out. I might be getting ill or something, or perhaps I am just overworked.

OI000009.JPG

OI000011.JPG

OI000012.JPG

OI000010.JPG

OI000015.JPG

OI000013.JPG

OI000018.JPG

OI000014.JPG

OI000017.JPG

OI000016.JPG

I hope you enjoyed the images.

Taxi!

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


Onboarding

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

The interesting lifestyle of the regular activities of people under camera and lense, I must say sunshine in Serbia is really wonderful, tell me about the amazing device used to capture this all?

These are all on an Olympus EM-1 and most with a 40-150 lens.

One day I'll be rich as you walking around with a Olympus EM-1 and snapping kumbaya 😅😅😅😅

The road making machines are my faves - both photos. Thanks again for sharing some Belgrade with us!

I like them too, something different to capture.

Looks like it’s in the same kind of shape as Greece.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Have you been to Greece before?

Yes. Twice.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Which places have you visited? -I live in Greece-

Crete. I've seen the capital and a few of the larger towns there.

And these days, it's very easy for anyone to travel virtually using Google Maps Street View.

Southern Europe looks relatively similar everywhere when it comes to the shape in which the buildings are with the exception of Northern Italy, Southern France and some of the wealthier areas of Spain. So does Northern and Western Europe (very roughly the alps and north thereof) except for the UK. If you compare Germany, Sweden or Finland to the UK, there is a clear difference in how well kept the buildings are. I don't get it why the British let their buildings go like they do. Central London is very well kept but go 5-10 miles out of the hear of London and you can see it. Perhaps it's the massive expense of living there. Switzerland is a notch up from the rest of Western and Northern Europe. It's quite remarkable how meticulously the Swiss maintain everything in their country.

It's quite remarkable how meticulously the Swiss maintain everything in their country.

Maybe because Switzerland is a tax paradise? Or maybe because it is protected by the EU? Or because they have no military expenses?

They do have military expenses. I think it’s a question of mentality. The British have enough money but they don’t care.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think there is a clear maintenance difference between Stockholm and Helsinki too.

I'd say so, too. It isn't very big but you can see it. Property values are very high in Stockholm and mortgages tend to be very long-term, even absurdly long like 100+ years. It would be absolutely stupid to let a building go when you still owe the bank massively for it.

I spent a couple of weeks cycling in Italy and Switzerland in July 2002. Lombardy was like Finland, that is, normal for northern Europe. But Switzerland was something else.

Switzerland didn't see war but did profit from it. The effects are still very visible.

Never been to Greece. The Polish city I was in earlier was more rundown but so much so it was beautiful. Belgrade had a different feel to it altogether.

Yes, @tarazkp ...

"It is what it is though and I really need some recovery time after this trip as it has really worn me out. I might be getting ill or something, or perhaps I am just overworked."

... I can imagine. I hope you give yourself the "freedom" to step back and recover your vitality. For the sake of those near you, if not for yourself ...

Nice pictures. Thanks for sharing your experience there!

I will have to as I am knackered. =)

Hmmm. Interesting choice of words @tarazkp ...

"The oldest recorded use of the word "knacker" dates to 1812, meaning 'one who slaughters old or sick horses'"

Source: Wikipedia

... 😉

A common Australian /British idiom for very tired.

Yes sir! Not to worry, just having a little fun (which maybe didn't "make it across" ...) with you ... 😊

It did. I had to board, but it also means to get kicked hard in the balls :)

Okay, good to know! When I first read it, I was thinking more about my childhood memories of hearing about old work horses being sent to the glue factory ... 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Safe travels home sir. I hope you are "back to your old self" in the very near future!

Posted using Partiko Android

In one of the last posts, I realized the street bookseller was from Belgrade but didn't know that you are in Belgrade at this point. :)

Hope you had a good time. :)

:wave:

Wish I had more time to spend with the locals. The food here has been great though and I am glad I let my hosts make the choices for me. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67