Travel with Tara : Day 2 at Lonavala, India

in #travel8 years ago

The second day at Lonavala was pretty good. We covered more ground and visited a few more places than the previous day. It was another lazy morning for @droidsid and I. We could not get out of the bed! The weather was so perfect! But we had to wake up by 9.00AM because my friends from Mumbai had called me the previous night and we decided to meet up. We packed our things and set off on the road, minutes later met my friends and the four of us took off to the Mighty Lohagad Fort!

Loha means Iron in Hindi. So it's called the Iron fort. It looked like a castle out of Game Of Thrones.

Loha

Lohagad Fort, Lonavala

It is one of the many hill forts in Lonavala with a lot of steps to walk on. Lohagad Fort is at an elevation of 3,389 ft above sea level and it looks majestic, all tall and mighty!!

pawna

Pawana Lake seen from Lohagad Fort

When you start climbing the fort, there is this amazing view of Lake Pawana!

pawnasqr

It was so windy on top of the fort, it was ridiculous. I have this habit of standing on the edge of things and I did that here as well. @droidsid had to hold me to make sure I wouldn't fly off trying to take pics!

pawnaruins

As soon as you step into the fort, you will be greeted by a lot of monkeys! I mean a Lot!! The little guys are everywhere doing all sorts of funny business! It was fun to watch their tantrums!

monkeylohagad

There were a few structures within the fort. Here's one structure. It's a temple of sorts or a tomb. I don't know, should have paid attention. Maybe @droidsid knows, he is very observant.

thatroundthing

The view when you look down from the fort. It was so windy, I was scared when I took this pic. There is no barricade or a fence that would protect you.

birdseyelohagad

Here's a picture of me taken by @droidsid! Thanks for the pic love!

meLohagad

Thank you for reading! May the Steem force be with you!

Sort:  

So beautiful! I'd love to go there too:)

You're welcome love! :* And nice post :) That monkey is like, "I'm fabulous" :P

Great photos. I love the doorway and window ones

Thank you! :)

Nice place, wonderful photo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53