Going to the Movies in Mexico - The VIP Experience!

in #travel6 years ago

After we went to (what we considered) an upscale movie theater in Mexico, a flood of comments came pouring in. People urged us to try out the VIP theater experience if we "really" wanted to know what a fancy, high-class one was like.

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 2.31.30 PM.png

VIP Movies in Mexico, Vamos!

Many of our subscribers thought we were inaccurate in describing the theater as upscale, despite Cinépolis Centro Magno being classified that way on Google. In any case, we almost had to see what Cinépolis VIP Theater at Galerías Guadalajara was like.

In this video, we chat about the differences between the two experiences, including ticket/concession prices, comfort, value, and which we prefer at the end of the day.

Watch the full video below.


backhand-index-pointing-down.png

We use this action cam to shoot our videos.


Curious to learn more about us?
Check out @wadepaterson's 20 Questions with TangerineTravels.

U5dsZuZpySDxWetr1rzRnaGo7vaCVcr_1680x8400.png

Until next time,
@sharingeverybite (Maddie)
@shenanigator (Jordan)
(and Laska the Siberian Husky)

Screen Shot 2018-03-24 at 12.10.56 PM.png

If you enjoyed this post, follow us @TangerineTravels

Our YouTube goal is to hit 1,000 subscribers by May 1st.
Help us get there! Subscribe to our channel
Progress: 782/1000

Sort:  

Nice video! Living in Cancun, Mexico myself I remember my first VIP Cinepolis experience and it has definitely spoiled me when it comes to going to the movies. The experience is great when you can order everything from sushi to baguettes. What really won me over was the bar. As all movie theaters overprice concessions, I at least feel that I'm getting my $ worth. The leather reclining seats are perfect for the movie connoisseur. Air conditioning being a must where I live and sometimes the VIP can get a bit chilly inside when you're accustomed to wearing shorts and a t-shirt most of the time... when this happens you can ask for a blanket and the VIP waiter will provide one free of charge.

Hey buddy. How's it going?

@mithrilweed and I just saw Ready Player One at Cinepolis VIP. It was awesome

The reclining seats are nice and it was pleasant to have a private lounge separate from the hustle and bustle of the mall, but after experiencing both, we'd rather pay a lot less money and visit a theater like this (video below) instead where we can pay 200 pesos for tickets and snacks rather than 6-700.

Wow!. This place is hugeeeeeeeee!. I love the touch of class and the amazing view that is on display. Haha this is really mind blowing.

Like Maddie once said last week, when you are in the land of the rich, you pay like the rich. $35 is quite high, even for a movie experience here. That is #12,000 naira here in my local currency. I don't think I have spent that much on a movie, even when I went with two of my friends at different times.

It's good that you experienced both sides and you can fit into which one gives you a better experience.

Well done guys.

For some people, it might be worth the classy, upscale experience as a treat once in a while, but we'd personally rather go to 2 or 3 movies for the same price we spent on the one at the VIP. Personal preferences at the end of the day :) At least we know for future!

Exactly. Definitely. Yeah, personal choices and I would rather prefer where I get to go for more movies than just to spend it all with a VIP movie experience. I admit it is good once in a while to experience It, but I have always loved value for whatever it is I want to go for. I would walk around to see the place and head back home. Hahahaha

Maddie already replied, but Jordan here anyway. The mall that it was located inside of was pretty darn nice. Not quite as nice as Andares but nothing to scoff at. I know you've seen it, but for anyone else who is curious our Andares video is below.

Yeah, it was way too much to spend on a movie experience here. We had similar theaters in Phoenix, Arizona, but there the food and drinks are way tastier, granted you'd be paying far more than $35 to go there.

Exactly what I just told Maddie now. I love having value for money. Like I said it is good maybe once in a while to go and get fun and all, but it has to give value in return, like the ones you quoted in the U.S, the food is far more better.
Like here some times, because they want to let their billing match up with their exquisitivity, they serve something regular at higher price, nothing special. I usually frown at those. Hahahaha.

In General, it's a nice experience I guess, seeing the beauty and all. Like I said, I would just go there, observe, absorb the beauty and head back home. Hahahahaha

It has been very good video. cinepolis is a nice place to visit when you go to mexico.

I live in Cancun and love the VIP movies here. They are way better than anything I have seen in the US. Great seats and a full bar, sushi, and service right to your seat so you don't have to stand in line! Just hit a little buzzer on your armrest and an attendant will come to your seat. They even have little nightstands and lamps on your chair so you can set things down on them. The seats fully recline and have a footrest and the aisle is wide enough that people can walk by without having to squeeze by you even if you're fully reclined. The only thing is the seats are so comfortable that I sometimes fall asleep in the theater.

Here's a pic of the seats:

seats at VIP cinepolis cancun.jpg

I didn't know you lived in Mexico! In case you don't remember, you didn't have any cash at SteemFest nor a way to withdraw any cash, so I (@shenanigator) bought some of your Steem. We're posting under @tangerinetravels now that we sold all of our stuff and are traveling throughout Mexico.

Well, we were traveling throughout Mexico, but we decided to stay in Guadalajara for a while.

The food and drinks at the VIP theater we went to left a lot to be desired. It doesn't have the reclining seats or the service to your seat but considering we can get a great experience at another theater for a fraction of the cost, we'd prefer to do that in the future.

This is the other theater we visited:

Everything is very nice, I am from Venezuela and I would like to know Mexico, I have seen images on the internet of its beaches, museums, landscapes and I love everything, I hope to enjoy its wonders.

You are really enjoying yourself in Mexico. How far with your Spanish class? I hope you are improving?

We seem to be making incremental improvements every day! Thanks for asking :)

I am uploading a fantasy novel here:
https://steemit.com/@supernews
Please upvote if you would like to keep a upcoming steem blogger to keep going.

Awesome theatre and i like both of you and your presentation, thanks to share.

I know Mexico has bad security issues. What was it like when you were traveling?
I am also studying Mexico on my wedding trip and I am worried about security issues!
I made a good Mexican video. Good description and visual beauty are also good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46