South East Asia Travel Series #1 - Preparation on a Budget

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

jakob-owens-358225.jpg

วันดี!

That means „Good day to you“ on Thai. I definitely should learn how to pronounce it since we leave our trip to South East Asia starts on Friday. I will be traveling around through Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam for about three weeks! I'll go there together with my girlfriend and two other friends of us.

First time in Asia and then we start with three countries?
YES! The reason why we do it this way is that we want to get to know three different cultures so we can choose the one we liked the most and come back to travel three weeks or more in only one of these three countries.

It is also my first time outside of Europe so it will be even more exciting for me. I thought about starting this Series because I love to read travel stories together with beautiful photos myself and maybe I can create a Series which is worth reading for you guys! :) It would be so cool if you appreciate sharing my experience!

Preparation!

  • Planning the route ✅ Ok so we said we want to travel through these three different countries and therefore we planned our rough route this way: Starting in Bangkok, Thailand to dive into the new culture and one of the most touristic places in Asia. Afterwards we want to travel along the coast there past Pattaya to discover some unknown beaches. Somehow from there we want to find a way up to Siem Reap to go to Angkor Wat - the world famous temple "city". Then through Cambodia to Phnom Phen to discover the capital of this country. Afterwards explore the Mekongdelta in Vietnam and up to Ho Chi Minh City. Thats our basic route but we could change it when we are there because we only booked one hostel in advance to remain free!

  • Booking a flight ✅ (Munich -> Abu Dhabi -> Bangkok) / (Ho Chi Minh City -> Kuala Lumpur -> Abu Dhabi -> Munich). On our journey to Thailand it takes us around 16 hours and on the way back 25 hours. Thats gonna be exhausting but it is hopefully worth the 560€ flight!

  • Find a Hostel for the first days ✅ When we arrive we will probably be exhausted and therefore we wanted to have a good place to stay. We found a great balance between a stay on a budget and "luxury" :D. We booked a room for only us four and therefore we don't need to stay in a 20 bed dorm. That needs to be enough! :) The place we stay is called: "Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel". Do you know it?

Bildschirmfoto 2018-01-28 um 17.38.46.png
Copyright Niras Hostel

  • Inform myself about which vaccinations are recommended for those countries ✅
    Useful link: https://www.5vorflug.de/blog/rund-um/impfkarte-welche-impfung-brauche-ich-fuer-welches-land/
    I decided to get the refreshment vaccination for Tetanus, Diphtheria and Polio and the Twinrix for Hepatitis A + B. Should be enough.

  • Make sure I got a travel insurance ✅ Since I didn't have one for the outside of Europe I decided to get one from ADAC. It's about 13€ per year. Totally affordable and this way I feel way more safe in case something happens.

  • Start packing! ✅ I actually named it "Start" on purpose because I really only have the basics together so far... I still need to get a few things before we take off: A malaria prophylaxis and sun protection creme. I think I buy mosquito spray there because it is probably a bit cheaper! And people! Don't forget an empty water bottle! Always nice to have for flights and trips.

20180128-DSC03320.jpg

Talk

I have an amazing thrill of anticipation for the trip! Since I just came back to Germany from cold Sweden I am craving the sun and the warm weather in general! I am also so excited to travel around with my camera and shoot amazing footage and tell the adventures I'll experience to you guys! So make sure to follow me! :)
What would you like to see on my feed when I am there?
Maybe all the amazing and delicious fruits I'll eat? SERIOUSLY I can't wait for it anymore! I am so excited for the FRUITS! :D

ja-ma-216495.jpg

If you have any tips for places to visit, beaches or vegan food please let me know! Alrighty. The next Travel Series will be about our first days in Bangkok! It'll be crazy! ☺️✨🚀

Take care,
Ken

Sort:  

What a great post and what a great trip! We @travelingstories will be glad to follow your stories :)

Let's us know if you pass through Kampot or Kep on your way from Phnom Penh to Ho Chi Minh. Would be nice to meet up ;) Angkor Wat is amazing Lived in Siem Reap for 1.5 years... save travels. Looking forward to seeing some post avput your travels!

The veg and fruit look amazing, the markets are some of the best experiences when travelling abroad.

Preperation is Everything when you are going on such a long trip :). I'm happy to see that you look well prepared. I'm really excited to see all kinds of fruits you find and photos of the beaches :)

Damn. They are amazing photos. All the movement and beauty of the nature and culture are really shown in your shots. Keep it up, I would love to see more post coming from you. Followed.

I am an architecture student and a part time graphic design. I do design on world famous landscape and buildings.

If you have any free time, please do visit my post too.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@ronluilh/hi-steemit-i-am-a-graphic-designer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62