Awaji Yumebutai 淡路夢舞台, Awaji Shima, Japan Part 1

in #travel6 years ago

-=Takoyaki-King=-

Japanese Concrete Architecture Part 1

One of Japans most famous architects and one of the most popular in world designed these structures, Tadao Ando, many people studying architecture will study him at some point. I had the pleasure of visiting this when I was in Shikoku. The Island Awaji Shima Is located between shikoku and Honshu.

Tadao Ando is famous for using very minimalism, using natural light and stylish concrete designs and built these structures to be used as a museum, conference center, park and memorial for the great Hanshin Awaji earth quake, which was one of Japans most damaging earth quake in recent history.

Originally the area was designed as an idea for restoring the island that was stripped of soil and materials to make parts of Osaka's reclaimed land

Visiting the area was very impressive and I will continue in my next post.

Thanks for viewing, my posts are about the journey, the process and showing my experiences. Don't hesitate to ask questions. All the photos are mine and can be found at https://www.flickr.com/photos/takoyaki_king/ Follow me if you interested in photography and travel.

Sort:  

Beautiful photos. Tadao Ando is one of my favourite architects and every time I go to Japan I make sure I visit one. I hope to visit Awaji next month and see Tadao Ando's structures. Thanks for sharing your pictures. I have resteemed this on my profile.

Thank you, Yeah there is so much influence from his work around japan its pretty cool. I got more photos coming up in my next post.

Very interesting photos, full of nice, clean lines. It looks a little too minimalist for comfort, but would definitely be an interesting place to do a little exploring. I love the little painting on the wall in that second shot :-)

Haha yeah from my photos it seems like that, but in person it has more impact. There is a lot of influence from this style in Japan so you can find a lot of similar work by other architects

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00