A 21-year-old foreigner alone on a trip in the USA

in #travel6 years ago

After school I wanted to travel the world, especially the United States, since I have been there a couple of times already. I love the National Parks in America with their beautiful landscapes, flora and fauna. After I finished a well-paying job I started my adventure alone. I landed in Denver and from there drove to Manitou Springs with my rental car. I always wanted to see Pikes Peak, where the famous hill climb race takes place.
P1050896.JPG
Plaque on top of Pikes Peak

What I did not know beforehand was that the Garden of the Gods was also located near Manitou Springs, a beautiful landmark with red rock formations. It is a small but beautiful site, where you can go for a sunday walk or a run.
P1050953.JPG

After Colorado I entered New Mexico because I wanted to see the Carlsbad Caverns. That’s when I realized that the United States are a huge country. On my way to the Carlsbad Caverns I drove on highways that stretched out for miles upon miles in an almost straight line. The distance was so big I had to get a motel in between. The next day the roads led me through desert like environments where no one ever seemed to have lived. I felt very lonely and thought to myself “If your car breaks down here you might die of dehydration”. An experience that is new to an European as the population density is much higher in Europe. You cannot drive for hours without coming across at least a small village.
When I arrived at the Carlsbad Caverns I got an overpriced motel room (they can charge higher prices there because there are no other cities around) and started exploring the caverns. A stunning cave and the biggest I have ever been to. The long drive was worth it in my opinion.

P1060047.JPG
Entryway to the Carlsbad Caverns.
P1060099.JPG

Overall it was a holiday of 3 weeks and I visited numerous other landmarks and National Parks. I ended up mostly travelling New Mexico, I didn't book anything beforehand so I was free to go where I wanted. I love the landscapes of this state, because they are very uncommon in Europe. I met many nice people and of course I also met one or two shady people; one of which I met at a gas station. We were talking normally until I told him I was travelling alone, he immediately wanted to know at which motel I spent the night and whether I wanted some company. His facial expression turned from normal to rather freaky. I ended the conversation then and there. But apart from that encounter this adventure was a great experience and I grew as a person because I had to speak English the whole time and I had to take care of money, food and accommodation myself.

If you are in your early to mid-twenties and you want to explore a new country just go for it and if your friends don’t have the time to do it or simply don’t want to do it – go alone, you won’t be bored and you definitely will not be disappointed!

I will definitely come back to the US and explore more magnificent states and sites.

Thanks for reading. Here are some more pictures.
P1060159.JPG
Tent Rocks National Monument near Albuquerque

P1050995.JPG
Bandelier; ancient Indian settlement

P1060204.JPG
Taos Pueblo,Taos NM

P1060241.JPG
Taos Gorge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49