Hanging out in Arcata, CA.... Traveling for Work!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Serenity Valley Farms Flighing into Arcata, CA.jpg

If you have been following us for a while you know I am not a big fan of working on the road, the time spent away from my wife and our homestead is not a good thing. We do what we have to do so we can live the life we want to live, so I work on the road. In doing so I get to some pretty remote locations from Northern, North Dakota to all the way down Big Ben National Park in TX right on the Rio Grande River. And the coast of Maine to the coast of California. Most of the places are incredibly beautiful and I am blessed to have seen them.

This Week I am in Arcata, CA. right in the middle of the emerald triangle. I am working on the Humboldt State University Campus at the US Forest Service Laboratory. The redwood trees are just as I remember them from when I was here in the 80’s.

Serenity Valley Farms Redwood Trees.jpg

Serenity Valley Farms Redwood trees 2.jpg

The ocean has always had a calming effect for me, standing there in front of such a huge body of water makes you realize how small you are in the grand scheme of things. The air was cold and crisp with a light fog rolling in that blocked the sun. I just stood there and absorbed the moment for about an hour.

Serenity Valley Farms Ocean View.jpg

Serenity Valley Farms Ocean View 2.jpg

As you can you can hear in this video, the water was a little rough but not too bad.

There was tons of baby seagulls getting some dinner.

There is a lot of dairy farmers farmers here, Californians are very proud of the dairy production, and the cheese is good.

Serenity Valley Farms Pasture Ground.jpg

Serenity Valley Farms Grass.jpg

Serenity Valley Farms Flower.jpg

I have to admit there is quite the selection of food to eat here, but oddly not a lot of seafood! Just seemed strange to me. I did find a great brewery called 6 rivers, the beer was great and so was the prawns. If you happen to stop there try the Chili infused beer that is if you have the guts to do so! It’s hot on the back side, kinda burns your throat. I definitely was not ready for that….

Serenity Valley Farms Ice Cold Beer.jpg

Serenity Vaalley Farms Fried Prawns.jpg

Looking forward to getting back home tomorrow, I will miss the 60 degree temps here, but I miss my wife more!
Till Next time Y’all have a great day…

Bob & Colleen Browning
Serenity Valley Farms
Monticello, KY

Check us out on the following platforms:

Follow us on STEEMIT: https://steemit.com/@svfarms

And Facebook: www.facebook.com/Serenity-Valley-Farms-167719676966401/

And on Instagram: www.instagram.com/serenityvalleyfarmers/

Check out our Website: www.serenityvalleyfarms.us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57