The Five Best Apps for Traveling

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Apps can make your trips easier and help you explore a new country. I use several apps when I travel. I sometimes use a language app to learn a couple of new words before I visit a new country. Here are my absolute favorite apps. 

Airbnb

This is my prefered app for finding accomodation. On some trips I may prefer a hotel, but on most trips I like to live like a local! I've had good and bad experiences on Airbnb, you can read this post if you want to read more about that.
But Airbnb is amazing, simple and so good. I love being able to wash my clothes, cook a meal and just chill in an Airbnb.
You should try it! 


XE Currency

XE is a great app to use to make sure you know how much money you're using abroad. It even works offline! 


Uber

I use this app to book a driver to get me from A to B. It's cheaper than a taxi and I like that you can track the car æand see exactly when the car is arriving. It's safe and easy to use. This is probably the app I use the most while traveling.


Tripadvisor

It's nice to see what a city has to offer on Tripadvisor. Restaurants, hotels and attractions are rated by other tourists and it gives you an idea of what to expect. Although I don't trust the ratings and I usually never do the things that are on top of the lists, I like to see what options I have. 


Apple Maps
This app comes with the iPhone. It's easy to use and makes it so easy to find your way to an adress. I use it all the time when I'm abroad or in a new city.


What is your favorite app for traveling and why? 


Susanne

Sort:  

You'll love WalkScore.com too

Tripadvisor is very handy indeed, in the future digital currencies are likely to be our best friends while travelling.

I agree, and I can't wait for that future to arrive!

A lot of controversy with fake or paid for reviews on trips at the moment.

Yes, that's why I don't trust the ratings. Too bad that some people are paying for good reviews.

Upvoted and resteemed!!!!!

Much appreciated. Thanks :)

For bigger cities, I love browsing through timeout.com for events and guides. Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95