My Sydney Life - Jazz Festival, Rugby Match and a 92 Second Long Walk - Pictures

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

A glorious long weekend in Australia is over. For me, all days are like a weekend, but it’s nice that everyone else also has time off too. Here are some pictures to sum up the weekend.

I've gone for many walks around town this weekend and it’s funny how you discover new things by taking a new route to the shop, or just walk the opposite way of where you've already walked.  My apartment is very close to the beach and I absolutely love it. I grew up next to the ocean, my parents have a cabin by the sea and I can’t imagine living inland somewhere. I started a timer when I locked up my apartment yesterday. I stopped it when I sat  down at the beach. 1 minute and 32 seconds. Not too bad!

In the end of the beach I found a beautiful saltwater pool with water flowing in from the ocean. I walked a little bit up the hill there and the view was something else. I sat there in silence and just enjoyed my new hometown. It’s been an interesting journey to get here, but I’m finally settled and comfy in my new apartment.  

The water here is still cold, because it’s just early spring. But hey, I’m Norwegian! We basically have to cut a hole in the ice to have a swim back home. I enjoy the refreshing sea in Australia.  

There was a jazz festival here in Manly this weekend. There were great concerts all over town, everywhere I went I discovered a new stage. There was a big main stage on the beach, a stage in the busiest street in Manly and smaller stages in the small streets as well. I went by a church where they played jazzed up rock songs. That was really cool. I must admit, jazz isn't really my favorite genre of music. But I really enjoyed all the people and the atmosphere that the festival brought to Manly. The weather was also great all weekend.   

13000 steps are the average amount of steps I’ve walked this week. I must admit I miss my car sometimes, but I really enjoy these walks. I walk to the shop, I walk to the laundry place and I walk to a restaurant to get WIFI.
(I’ll get WIFI in my place in a week or two. I can't wait.) 

I’ve spent so much time alone the last weeks. I can tell that it will take time to befriend the locals, but at least I feel like my relationship with myself is better than ever. Honestly, I think Australia is one of the easier places to get to know people. The Aussies are talkative and outgoing. It’s actually a bit nice to be quiet for a long time. Being the chatterbox that I am, I’ve miraculously gone several days without speaking. I’ve probably not been that silent since I was put under anesthesia at the hospital.

The Sydney Sharks played the grand final of NRL last night. I went to a bar and watched the rugby game by myself. Doing that is way outside my comfort zone, but I had fun. I was told that Sydney won the finals for the first time in fifty years, because of this the atmosphere in the bar was truly epic.

The food in Manly is scrumptious. I ate this lovely plate of sashimi, ginger, puffed brown rice and cream cheese at Manly Wine. 

Have you been to Sydney? And what cool things do you think I should see here?

Susanne

Sort:  

We are lucky to have you here! Great post :)

I'm still mad at you for not picking me up and driving me to the burrito place today! But thanks - I'm glad you are here too. I'm flattered, as lucky is not a word you throw around much... Ha ha.

Fun post @susanne! Thanks for sharing.

Hello, my friend. You are welcome! Thank you so much for reading and leaving a comment.

You bet! I'm enjoying keeping up with your travels and such, now that we have crossed paths.

Really like your post and very interesting with some great photos

Thank you so much @ianstrat. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback! I appreciate it.

The sashimi looks amazing!!! I've never had it like that before.

It was delicious! There were ginger and spring onion mixed in with the fish, and a little bit of soy sauce underneath the fish. I really liked it.

If you have some time on hand a visit to the Sydney Opera House is a must!

@patjewell I live here, so I have plenty of time. I have seen the Opera House once, it was spectaucal. And much bigger than I thought it was going to be.

You lucky fish! :) Sydney is awesome, a place to visit when touring Australia

You lucky fish! :) Sydney is a must when visiting Australia

I agree, very beautiful place!

Very nice and positive post! I like those little jokes you put throughout the text. Keep it up! Are you going to stay in Manly for long?

Thank you @pabloescobar! I try to make my posts less serious, so I'm glad you like it. I don't know really, maybe 10 months, maybe forever? :)

I remember seeing you a couple of months ago and hadn't seen your posts since. I'm following you now so I don't miss your traveling adventures!

Oh, thank you for following! I will try not to disappoint you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32