My trip to Finland | SLUSH - Technology Conference for Startups and Tech Talent + Lunch With the Norwegian Crown Prince + Blockchain Talk

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

I have arrived in cold and awesome Helsinki. I'm here to attend SLUSH. The first day of SLUSH was amazing. More than 15 000 people are gathered here to network and learn more about other startups. I've met people from all over the world and I've had lunch with the Royal Norwegian Embassy and the Crown Prince of Norway! He is also a speaker at the conference and he is very engaged in innvoation and startup companies. 

The first day of SLUSH was great. I've talked to so many exciting new companies with great ideas. There was also a lot of big companies there, such as Google, NOKIA and Microsoft. I talked to robots, watched 3D printing and took a VR tour of New York. I also got to meet the Haakon, the Crown Prince of Norway at lunch with the Norwegian Embassy. 

My luggage is unfortunately still in Singapore. I had warm jackets and knitted sweaters in my suitcase. When I left Sydney the temperature was 25 degrees and when I got to Helsinki it was -8. I took the train in to Helsinki and went shopping for stuff like toothpaste, scarf, jacket, socks, underwear and a bag. That was probably the last thing I wanted to do after 36 hours of traveling through five countries, cancelled flights and no sleep. Everything I wear in the first picture here, except the hat, is bought in Helsinki.. I was very grateful for my expensive travel insure at this point. My Steemit hat is also in my suitcase so I don't get to wear that to
the conference :(


Today is Thursday, the last day of the conference. I'm very excited to attend the talk called
BLOCKCHAIN - THE DECENTRALISED FUTURE. 


(Screenshot from slush.org)

After todays conference we are going to an afterparty at the conference hall. That should be a lot of fun!
Tomorrow I leave my Airbnb right next to SLUSH, and I will check in at a hotel in Helsinki city.
My sister is flying in from Norway to hang out for the weekend and I'm so excited about that, as I now live in Australia and haven't seen her in ages.

I can highly recommend both Helsinki and SLUSH. People here speak very good English, the city is beautiful and the food here is great too. But, you should consider going there anytime between May and August. It's freakin' cold here right now.


Susanne



 

Sort:  

Great update @susanne
Unlucky with your luggage, hope they get it back to you.

Btw, @fyrstikken has made a Norwegian talk & speech channel on the steemspeak discord, hope to see you in there some day.

Thank you!!:) I hope so too. I feel so lost without my luggage. Cool, I will check it out.

Thanks for update. What a great experience, even the shopping trip from the lost suit case will be a great story to look back on. Even though I'm sure it wasn't at the time.

No problem! Haha, you are right. It will be funny some time in the future. :) Thanks for leaving a comment.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.24 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50