I Just Won Tickets to Slush (Tech+Startup Event) and a Trip From Australia to Helsinki, Finland!!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Great things happen when you leave your comfort zone. X2 Labs in Stavanger (my hometown) launched this competetion two weeks ago. All you had to do was this:

Make a 60 second video where you explain why you should win and how expontential technology is going to change the future. You had to post the video and tag the company.

I was reluctant to this, as I don't like seeing myself on video or publishing a video that was public. What if someone laughed at me? Or what if someone thought my English wasn't good?
But guess what? I did it and I won! 


(Screenshot from the video, I made Snapchat an example so that explains the silly filter.)

I mentioned 3D printing, drones, solar power and cryptocurrency in my video. I said I wanted to win because I just started my own company and need some inspiration, and that I would love to meet the Norwegian Crown Prince.... :) 

The prize?
Tickets to Slush!!
Round trip from anywhere in the world.
1000 Euros spending money.
Accomodation.

I really miss Norway, so I think a trip to Helsinki will make me feel like I'm almost home. I can't wait to experience Slush and Helsinki! I do need to buy some warm clothes for this trip though, as all my winter stuff is back home in Norway.

Check out http://www.slush.org/ to read more about this awesome event. This is what they write about the event on their website: 

During what is – let’s be honest – the sh*ttiest weather season of the year, Slush brings together the leading actors of the global tech scene to Helsinki for something very special. Described by many as “Burning Man meets TED”, the event has grown in just a few short years to 15,000 attendees and 1 million live stream viewers. Close to 2,000 startups, 800 venture capitalists, and 700 journalists from over 100 countries come to Slush to drive business, and to experience the phenomenal atmosphere. 

It's safe to say that I'm very excited for the upcoming trip! And if you guys have been to Helsinki, tell me what I should see and do! 


Susanne


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 21 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations on winning such great prize.

Here is official tourist guide.
http://www.visithelsinki.fi/en/see-and-experience/sights-and-attractions/main-attractions-in-helsinki#/?listing_id=52354&mode=list

Older people are quiet and don't know what smalltalk is but younger generation is much more open and most of them understand english quite well.

You should visit Suomenlinna which is an old fortress island near the coast of Helsinki. A ferry goes there regularly. You should definately experience finnish sauna. Current weather is windy and rainy with 0...+5C temperature. It can go down to -10C within a week and even to -20C. Lapland in northern Finland is something you should experience in autumn and winter. It is amazing.
http://en.ilmatieteenlaitos.fi/weather/helsinki

Daylight time is 6-7 hours. One week after slush is
Finland's independence day 6.12.



WOW! This is great, thanks for sharing. I can't wait.

Congratulations! Hope you have a great time. :)
(Remember your steem cap :D)

OH! I would've never thought of that! Thank you for telling me, I will make sure to bring it.

Wow fortune favours the bold. Well done and enjoy your trip almost home.

Thank you so much for reading and leaving a comment!

That's awesome -pack some heat from down under!

Ha ha, I will try! Brrrrrrrr.

Congrats! Slush is a crazy event. I've been there once and the energy is awesome. There are pitching competitions, loads of people from all over the world, venture capitalists looking for the next big thing.

You have been there? That is cool! I can't wait to meet all the cool people there.

Yeah, back when I was a game dev. If you have business idea, get your pitching skills ready. Lots of opportunities there. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54