You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: KAYAK CAMPING IN THE SAN JUAN ISLANDS | Original Video + Guide

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Brings back so many great memories in SJ Islands!
That little boat looks really fun. I have always loved Doe Bay, and I used to go every summer.

One of the few places left on the N. West Coast where you can camp, overlooking the ocean!
An amazing place to commune with nature; "shush", keep it a secret ;-)

I liked bicycle camping; no waiting in line with the car at 6am for the ferry!
Maybe next time I'll try it on a kayak; I hope the inflatable holds air!

My dad has kayaks; we go out in the mountain lakes in AZ. There is an area there cordoned off as Bald Eagle sanctuary and as I took my new mini cam and looked through the viewfinder to capture the bird landing at the top of a tall pine, I immediately rolled the boat over!

Don't look through your viewfinder while in the boat :-)
I was fortunate to have another kayak nearby, and hand off my cam or I might have lost it..

And by good fortune, I had days before, watched the video on how to get back into a kayak after rolling it!
I had the procedure down but might have failed if I had not trained myself how to do it.

Sort:  

Hahaha, that is a fantastic story! I would have been panicking about keeping the camera above water too, that hand-off must have been something special to witness. Fortunately, inflatable kayaks are pretty stable (albeit slow). The only time I've rolled was on a whitewater stretch of river and it was my own fault.

I'm happy to be able to share memories of the San Juans with you. They are just a straight-up special place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42