Travel photograph story: LA PALMA - La isla bonita. The loveliest island on Earth!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Need some vacation, sun rays on your skin, beautiful landscapes, mountains and the wide Ocean? Here we go... 

La Palma - La isla bonita 

La Palma is one of the 7 Canary Islands (Spanish territory), located in the Atlantic Ocean close to Africa. In my previous articles I showed you Tenerife, Lanzarote and Fuerteventura. Today it´s time to present you another island which actually is considered to be the most beautiful of all. 

When I was 15 years old my parents decided to move from Germany to La Palma. This is not the only reason why I consider that place my second home. Maybe there is no other destination on Earth where I feel that grounded and free at the same time

It will be my pleasure to show you around the island and present you my TOP 7 SPOTS. Maybe after it you´ll understand why this place is so special for me. 

You will soon recognize that La Palma is much greener than the other Canary Islands. After the rain falls which usually came in the winter months (December - January) all these wonderful plants (a lot of them endemic!) start to leaf and convert the island into a green paradise. 

Picture: Lookout point on the Eastern side of the Island, close to the capital "Santa Cruz" - I love these colours! 

1. El Guanche and La Caldera

Picture: Famous mountain formation called "El Guanche" since it looks like one of the island´s aborigines, lying on the top of the mountain with his hands folded on his belly (on the right: face, on the lef: folded hands). The volcanic crater you can see behind him is called "La Caldera" - the core and unmistakable symbol of the island. Photo credit: Michael Apel (source: Wikipedia) 

Picture: Tomy and me posing in front of "El Guanche" :-) The pictures is taken in December, this is why I wear so much clothes. Right now we have 34 degrees Celsius during the day - nothing about wearing hats and pullovers so far! 

2. Charco Azul - Natural seawater outdoor pool 

Picture: Charco Azul, the water inside the pool is naturally refilled by the sea. Waves break into it according to high and low tide rhythm. The walls of the pool are full of crabs and other beautiful wild animals. One of the big advantages of this location is that kids can easily take a bath in the seawater without being in danger since the waves don´t break inside the pool. Picture credit: eldiario.es.

3. Bodegón Tamanca - my favourite restaurant 

Picture: Main entrance into the cave. Photo credit: Eduardo Gómez de la Mata 

Picture: Cosy and a bit spooky at the same time - the main part of the restaurant inside the cave. Photo credit: outdoor-foren.de. 

Picture: My favourite tapas dish "Jamón Ibérico y queso de cabra" (ham and goat cheese). I would combine it with a glass of red wine. 

4. The falling clouds 

Picture: "The falling clouds" - one of the typical landmarks of the island and definitely the best spot to take your dog for a walk. And if you don´t have a dog it´s still the best area for a walk :-) Due to meteorological reasons you can see this phenomenon almost every day. Clouds accumulate on the rather foggy and rainy Eastern side of the island and slop onto the other / Western and warmer side of the mountain. 

5. Volcano Birigoyo in front of my parent´s house 

Picture: The volcano you can see in the back of the picture has an altitued of 1.800m. I think my parents were quite brave to build our house right down one of the most active volcanos of all Canary Islands!?! :-))) 

Picture: Me dancing in our garden on one of these lovely foggy days before Christmas. 

Picture: At the top of Volcano Birigoyo looking down. Isn´t this an amazing view!?
Photo credit: dominicdahncke.com

6. Cascada de Colores - the coloured cascade 

Picture: Natural cascade inside the crater of "La Caldera". These amazing colours appear naturally due to the high amount of minerals in the rocks. Photo credit: turismodecanarias.com.

7. Charco Verde - my favourite beach

Picture: Charco means bay. So literally it´s called the "Gren bay". I love the wildness of this place! 

If you want to know more about Canary Islands you are more than welcome to join my blog @surfermarly. Oceanlovers, beacher, seasider, nature addicts, surfer and people who like to enjoy every minute of their lifes will get involved. Promised :-)

Cheers & live your dream,
Marly -

Picture: High five by Tomy & Marly 

Sort:  

Sooooo.... Time to visit la Palma!!!! If you are walking down the street (or surfing) and a crazy looking fella shouts in the street "SurferMarly!!!!!!!" With a big smile then I would have found you ;-)

I'll probably never get to go, so thanks for "taking me with" you.

Hehe, you are very welcome @papa-pepper :-) It´s my pleasure!

Lovely place ya brother

Thank you @silvia, I am happy you liked it :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86