A short stop in Singapore

in #travel7 years ago

My impression of Singapore is that they want to be the new "Big Apple". There are so many fancy new buildings and arty architecture that you feel like you are going to one of those world expo events.

DSC01739.JPG
I think this is part of the "floating" hotel complex.

DSC01730.JPG
"The floating hotel", Marina Bay Sands hotel.

DSC01785.JPG
The shopping centre under "the floating hotel" actually got a canal with boats. I must say I was reasonably surprised, but hey if people want to waste money on an indoor boatride then feel free :-p

One thing is for sure, the streets are squeeky clean and you will not step in a chewing gum. However I think socializing in Singapore is hard unless you know some "locals". Singapore is a business city for sure, and therefore a melting pot of business people. Which also means it is a quite expensive city. So if you are travelling on a backpacker budget I would not stay to long.
The bay got a nice view of the city and has an amazing botanic garden which is definitely worth visiting. Even if you just got 6 hours or an overnight flight change in Singapore, check it out!

DSC01775.JPG
These artificial trees get lit up at night as well.

DSC01763.JPG
They are pretty spectacular if you ask me. You feel like an ant walking next to these constructions.

DSC01727.JPG
Aaaaaaand of course they just had to build a football field on the water as well :-p Hope you enjoyed my views on my short walkabout in Singapore.

Have a nice day :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51